BIODIDAC provides thousands of images relating to organismal and human biology and histology. Users can browse the website or search by keyword.
- Biological Anthropology Tutorials
Palomar Community College’s anthropology department created these biological anthropology tutorials. Topics include evolution, genetics, heredity, adaptability, behavior and much more. The website also includes a glossary of terms and printable index cards.
- CELLS Alive
CELLS Alive is an excellent resource for film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms. It provides interactive modules relating to cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy. Cell models, mitosis, meiosis, and cell cycles are discussed in detail.
- Digital Anatomist Interactive Atlases
This website provides 2-D and 3-D images from cadaver sections, MRI scans, and computer reconstructions of the human body. Users can click on images to view different angles of the organs.
- Embryology Tutorial
This website includes Amphibian and Sea Urchin Embryology tutorials. Both tutorials contain photographs, diagrams, and text.
- HHMI's BioInteractive
HHMI is a non-profit medical research organization. Its BioInteractive website features information about infectious diseases, stem cells, evolution, obesity, cancer, neuroscience, genomics and chemical genetics, sex determination, biological clocks, cardiovascular diseases, immunology, DNA, and RNA. Formats include essays, videos, animation, lectures, and a virtual lab.
This website contains animations, graphics, and descriptive links related to the study of anatomy and the human body. Topics include the skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, nervous, cardiovascular, reproductive, and urinary systems.
- Intute: Health and Life Sciences
The Health and Life Sciences pages of Intute, formerly known as BIOME, provides resources relating to medicine, nursing, midwifery, allied health, agriculture, food, forestry, veterinary medicine, bioresearch, and natural history. Additional features include a blog, hot topics, timelines, and events.
This website was created by the University of Utah's Genetic Science Learning Center. It includes a basic genetic reference series as well as a genome science series and a genetics of health series.
- MicrobeWorld: Discover Unseen Life on Earth
MicrobeWorld contains images and essays about microbiology. Topics include viruses, bacteria and types of microbes. A discovery timeline, information about the profession of microbiology, and other resources are also available.
- National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
The National Biological Information Infrastructure is a part of the Biological Informatics Office of the U.S. Geological Survey. The program provides access to data and information on the nation's biological resources. It includes information about invasive species, focal species, and river restoration, as well as information and resources relating to specific organisms and their habitats.
- National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation was created by Congress in 1950 to promote and support all fields of fundamental science and engineering. The agencies website features news, research overviews, speeches and lectures, discoveries, publications, statistics, a multimedia gallery, and more.
- Net Frog 2002: Online Dissection
Net Frog is a step-by-step guide to the frog dissection process. It includes narration, video, graphics, text and quizzes.
- The Biology Project
This website, developed by the University of Arizona, is an interactive biology resource. Topics include biochemistry, cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, Mendelian genetics, and molecular biology.
- The Virtual Courseware Project
The Virtual Courseware Project is supported by grants from the U.S. National Science Foundation and the California State University. It produces interactive, online simulations for the life and earth sciences. It consists of images and tutorials relating to earthquakes, global warming and more.
- Timeline of Evolutionary Thought
This timeline is a project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology in Berkeley, CA. Scholars are divided into three categories: Non-Darwinians, Darwinians, and Neo-Darwinians. It includes biographical information, images, and documents.
- Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology
This online textbook and interactive website is based on Kenneth Todar's lectures at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. According to the website, "Its contents are suitable for reading or presentation in courses or course modules concerning general microbiology and medical bacteriology at the college and advanced high school levels of education. As an electronic text, new material is constantly being added, and current material is constantly being revised and updated."
- Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists around the world that provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. It includes images, movies, and sound clips relating to types of life on earth.