Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017
- Atoms and Molecules
This website was compiled by Richard F.W. Bader, a professor in the Department of Chemistry at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. The site includes in depth discussion of the theory and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. The site includes numerous images, diagrams and charts.
- Chem Connections
W. W. Norton’s Chem Connections contains topical modules for the first two years of the college chemistry curriculum. It was designed to help students understand the relationship between chemistry and other sciences and technology, as well as its impact on society. Topics covered include global warming, the ozone hole, fats in our diet, computer chip thermochemistry, water treatment, stars, and more. The modules include many color images and charts.
- Chemical Heritage Foundation
The mission of the Chemical Heritage Foundation, located in Philadelphia, PA, is to preserve and promote the progress of science. The Foundation’s website contains online exhibits featuring Paul Lauterbur’s notebook, in which he wrote ideas for what would become Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI); a history of chemistry sets; women in chemistry; and much more.
- Chemical and Other Safety Information
This website is hosted by the Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory in Oxford, UK. It contains safety information about both household and laboratory chemicals, including alphabetical listings of chemicals and chemical safety terms.
- Chemistry Hypermedia Project
The Chemistry Hypermedia Project is hosted by the Virginia Tech Department of Chemistry. It provides students with online resources for general and analytical chemistry. The site also includes an Encyclopedia of Analytical Instrumentation, equilibrium practice problems, excel simulations, and more.
Chemsoc, a product of the UK’s Royal Society of Chemistry, provides chemistry resources for students and educators. These resources include a visual Periodic Table of Elements, a timeline, and full-text articles on chemical science topics.
- Electronic Organic Chemistry Flashcards
This site, hosted by professors at Ohio State University, provides online flashcards that can help students learn about chemical reactions.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
This website provides chemical information such as formulas, molecular weight, chemical structure, and more. It is hosted by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty
This website contains detailed information related to fundamental physical contents, including a searchable bibliography; the international system of units (SI); and the uncertainty of measurement results. It is hosted by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
TOXNET is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It contains searchable databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- Chemistry Dictionary—Chemicool
Chemicool was created by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s David D. Hsu. Its Chemistry Dictionary provides online definitions of chemicals and chemistry terms. It can be either browsed or searched by keyword.
- Chemistry: Periodic Table and More
Chemicool was created by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s David D. Hsu. Its Periodic Table provides information about chemical states, energies, oxidation and electrons, appearance and characteristics, reactions, conductivity, and abundance.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
This website, created by scientist Eric Weisstein and maintained by Wolfram Research, Inc., contains definitions about chemical reactions, experimental chemistry, geology, organic and inorganic chemistry, mineralogy, petrology, and quantum chemistry.