- Accuracy in Media—For Fairness, Accuracy and Balance in News Reporting
Accuracy in Media (AIM) is a citizen’s watchdog group that critiques the news media’s inaccurate and biased news stories. Its goal is to encourage fair and objective news coverage by the media. The group’s website includes news, briefings, guest columns, and much more.
- Allyn & Bacon Communication Studies Website
This website is designed to be used with Pearson Education Company’s communication textbooks, but it is also useful as an independent resource. It includes information about small group communication, interpersonal communication, and public speaking. Online quizzes and interactive activities are featured at the end of each subsection.
- American Press Institute
The American Press Institute, located in Virginia, provides training and professional development for individuals in the news industry and journalism educators. The Institute's website includes information about upcoming seminars, articles that can be browsed by author or topic, and a “journalism toolbox” with links to useful websites.
- American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
This website contains a large archive of famous American speeches. Video is included where available, as well as text. Scholarly resources include definitions and discussions about rhetoric by the ancient Greeks.
- Center for Media Literacy
The Center for Media Literacy (CML) is an provides leadership, public education, professional development and educational resources to individuals and organizations across the country. Media issues include advertising/consumerism, computer literacy, faith-based media literacy, film study, global media issues, health issues, history of the media, and media activity resources. The website includes many free downloads that can be used in conjunction with these topics.
- Digital TV: A Cringely Crash Course
PBS’s Robert X. Cringely discusses the history and future of television. Topics include “TV Grows Up,” “A Different Aspect,” “The Coming Resolution,” “Digital vs. Analog,” “Enhanced TV,” and “HDTV.” Flash videos and images are included in the presentation, as is a Digital Broadcast Timeline.
- Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
The FCC is an independent government agency that regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable across the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions. The FCC’s website provides official reports, surveys, and responses regarding communication information. It also provides information regarding the many bureaus and offices within the FCC.
- Interpersonal Communication Website
This website was created by Terrence A. Doyle, Ph. D., at Northern Virginia Community College. It includes information about cultural context, self concept, relationships, listening and perception, verbal and nonverbal messages, relational development, and communication as a process.
- Knight Digital Media Center: Tutorials
This website was created by the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism. The tutorials section contains detailed instructions for using different media formats. Topics include “Using Flash Templates,” “Using Soundslides,” “Dictation Recorders,” “HTML,” and much more.
- Media History Project
The Media History Project, which was created and maintained by the University of Minnesota, is dedicated to “promoting the study of media history from petroglyphs to pixels.” It features articles about the first know writing, runes, sign language, the internet, and much more. It also includes a media timeline from prehistoric times to the present.
- National Telecommunications and Information Administration
The NTIA, a bureau of the U.S. Department of Commerce, advises the president about telecommunications and information policy issues and presents the Administration's position on these issues. The bureau’s website includes information about the different NTIA offices as well as press releases, publications, and reports.
NewsLab is an online resource that seeks to improve television and radio journalism by helping reporters better inform their viewers and listeners about the issues that affect their lives. The website provides information about and public reaction to current news reports. It also includes resources and strategies for reporters to use to improve their skills.
- Poynter Online
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists. Its website provides articles on topics such as design and graphics, diversity, ethics, leadership, the internet, photojournalism, writing and editing, TV and radio, and journalism and business values. There is also a career center that provides interview and resume tips, as well as job announcements.
- Project for Excellence in Journalism: Understanding News in the Information Age
The Project for Excellence in Journalism is a non-partisan “research organization that specializes in using empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press.” Its mission is to help both journalists and non-journalists better understand the news. It provides statistics and analysis of the news media as well as links to job postings, journalism schools, and journalism organizations.
- The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press is a nonprofit organization that provides free legal assistance to journalists. The organization’s website includes news articles, podcasts, and press releases that relate to freedom of the press.
- USDOJ: Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
This website, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, provides information about the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), which requires all federal agencies to disclose records requested in writing by any person. In addition to general information about the act, the website also has a reference guide, Privacy Act regulations, and FOIA contact information.