- Authentic Assessment Toolbox
This Web site was created by North Central College Psychology Professor Jon Mueller to encourage educators to move away from traditional assessment of students towards authentic assessment, where students create real-life products of their choice to demonstrate content understanding. Mueller includes lesson examples created by his graduate students.
- Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature
Use this Web site created by a reference librarian at California State University to find quality children’s literature. The database is searchable by age of reader, format, genre, publication year, and award winners.
- Discovery Education
The Discovery Channel offers a wealth of tools for educators including lesson plans (searchable by grade level and subject), ideas for activities and experiments, and a clip-art gallery. Also available on this site is Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators, an excellent source of the best sites on the Web for teachers.
- Education World
This Web site is an online educational guide for teachers to gather and share ideas. It includes lesson plans and professional development tools.
- The Educator’s Reference Desk
Sponsored by the Information Institute of Syracuse, this site provides over 2000 lesson plans submitted by teachers; over 3000 resources including Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups; and an archived collection of answers to popular questions about education.
- English Raven EFL/ESL Resources
This site provides various resources for teachers of EFL/ESL including games, flashcards, and templates for tests.
- FREE – Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
This Web site from the U.S. Department of Education has over 1,500 resources for teachers and learners from more than 60 federal agencies.
- LD Online
This site on learning disabilities and ADHD is an educational service of WETA-TV, the PBS station in Washington, DC. It is a resource for children, adolescents, parents, and teachers.
- MONTESSORI: The International Montessori Index
Originally created in 1998 through the graduate school of education at Loyola College in Maryland, this site indexes detailed comparative information about Montessori schools to aid parents looking for a school for their children. It also presents information on the Montessori philosophy and practices.
- The Montessori Foundation: The International Montessori Council
This non-profit organization’s Web site offers articles for parents and teachers about the Montessori way of education in addition to a school finder.
- Montessori Materials
Homeschoolers and teachers are encouraged to copy, print, and use the cards, puzzles, maps, and templates on this site. Materials for Language Arts, Math, Science, Geography, Music, Art, and History are included.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
A service of the U.S. Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics is the organization entrusted with data collection and analysis on all aspects of education. This site, an excellent source for statistics, also has an email alert system to keep you informed when new material is uploaded.
- National Library of Education
This Web site is the federal government’s resource center for education information. You can phone, mail, or email requests for information about the United States Department of Education’s programs, activities, publications, and education materials from this and other federal agencies.
- New Jersey Department of Education
This site offers a school directory, news stories on education issues, and resources for parents, students, and partners (such as Parent Teacher Associations). You can access the New Jersey School Report Card to see how any New Jersey school measures up. From the page for educators, you can link to information about careers and how to become credentialed as a New Jersey school teacher.
- PBS Teachers
Public Television provides resources for teachers including classroom materials, lesson plans, videos, and activities that correlate to state and national education standards. Professional development information is also included at this high-quality site.
- OSEP Ideas that Work – U.S. Office of Special Education Programs
This Web site provides access to information from research to practice initiatives funded by Office of Special Education Programs to aid in the education of infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities.
- SCHOOL: The Story of American Public Education
This history of public education in the United States looks at public education innovators and the evolving classroom. It includes a photo gallery and a pitch for civic involvement.
- Smithsonian Education
The section of this site for students includes an online art gallery featuring “Women of Our Time”, a fun way to meet our country’s presidents, and kid-interesting collections. Educators can access lesson plans and activities that meet state standards. Families can plan their trip to the Smithsonian with ideas of what to do before, during, and after the visit.
- U.S. Department of Education
Educators can access a survival guide for teachers and aids to improve student performance from early childhood through college preparation. Students will appreciate homework resources, information about service and volunteer opportunities, as well as a college navigator and webliography of job sites. Education resources for Spanish speakers are also available.