- African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
This website is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project. It includes essays and images about black Americans from the early national period through the twentieth century. Topics include slavery, the Civil War, Abolition, Civil Rights, and more.
- American Memory Timeline
This website is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project. It links to primary sources on a variety of topics in American history, beginning in 1763 and ending in 1969. Subjects include the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, expansion, industrialization, the Great Depression, World War II, and post-war America.
- Digital History
This website was designed and supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. It consists of texts and images of events in American history. Topics include immigration, reconstruction, and social history. Also included on the website are an interactive timeline and links to court cases and newspaper articles.
- Documenting the American South
This is a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University of North Carolina’s University Library. It contains books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs in three formats: texts, images and audio files. All of the material on this website relates to the history, literature, and culture of the southern United States.
- From the Home Front and the Front Lines
Information for this online exhibition was collected for the Library of Congress’s Veterans History Project. Resources include photographs, diary excerpts, letters, maps, and other historical items from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Persian Gulf War.
- Liberty! - The American Revolution
This resource, published by PBS, chronicles the events of the Revolutionary War from 1774 to 1791. In addition to discussion of the major events of the war, the website also includes information about daily colonial life, world events at the time, and military perspectives of the American and British soldiers.
- Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
This online exhibition, created by the Library of Congress, showcases the relationship between religion and the foundation of the United States of America. Topics include America as a religious refuge, religion in the eighteenth century, religion during the American Revolution, religion and state and federal governments, and religion in the new republic. Historical documents and images are included on this site.
- Spy Letters of the American Revolution
This site was created by graduate students at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. It includes spy letters from historical figures including George Washington, Paul Revere, and Benedict Arnold (both coded and decoded). A timeline, maps of the routes the letters took, and stories about the letters' histories and importance are included. Spy methods and techniques, including secret code, invisible ink, captured letters, intelligence, mask letters, and quill letters, are also discussed.
- The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Institute promotes the study of American history to teachers, students, and the general public. In addition to seminars and exhibits at the site’s physical location in New York, the Institute showcases online exhibits on its website. These exhibits cover topics such as Alexander Hamilton and the creation of the United States, the Dred Scott decision, a history of American freedom, war letters, and Lincoln in the media. The website also includes interactive features, such as songs and maps.
- The Triangle Factory Fire
Presented by Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations, the story the 1911 Triangle Factory Fire in New York City includes information about sweatshops and strikes, the fire, mourning and protests, relief, and the investigation, trial, and eventual reform. Sources include primary documents, photographs and illustrations, and audio clips.
- The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
The Virginia Center for Digital History’s Valley Project is a collection of primary sources that chronicle life during the Civil War in two communities: Augusta County, VA and Franklin County, PA. The site includes thousands of letters, diaries, church and government records, speeches, newspaper articles, maps and images.
- U.S. Army Center of Military History
This website provides a history of the United States military. Topics include force structure support, organizational history, images (including artwork and photographs), and the Medal of Honor. Users of the site can also view and print online military publications.
- Voices of Civil Rights
This site, presented by the AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, and the Library of Congress, documents events that took place during the Civil Rights Movement. It consists of personal narratives, oral histories, photographs and posters. Also included are a glossary of Civil Rights terminology, an interactive timeline, and a Voices of Civil Rights music video.
- We Shall Overcome
This Civil Rights website was created by a joint partnership between the U.S. Department of the Interior and the U.S. Department of Transportation. Topics include leaders, strategies, setbacks and gains of the Civil Rights movement. Sources include essays and images, as well as an itinerary map that displays information and photographs of historic Civil Rights locations.