- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Its website provides research and data on the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care in America.
- American Council on Science and Health (ACSH)
ACSH was founded by a group of scientists in order to bring a scientific basis to health issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, and the environment.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. The website provides information regarding the control and prevention of infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, and environmental health concerns. Information on travelers’ health for specific destinations is also provided.
- Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The Food and Drug Administration is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. The website provides information on products the FDA regulates, including food, drugs, medical devices, biologics, animal feed and drugs, cosmetics, and radiation-emitting products.
- Genetics Home Reference
This website is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides information on genetic disorders and related genes and chromosomes. A genetics handbook and glossary are also available.
GlobalHealth.gov is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. This office provides statistics, reports, and publications related to global health.
HealthyNJ was developed by the University Libraries at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. Categories covered include Health & Wellness, Diseases & Conditions, Health in New Jersey, and Reference Links. Also included is a Just for Kids section, which is available in both Spanish and English.
- The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Family Foundation is a private organization that provides information on major health policy issues in the United States. Topics covered include Medicare, Medicaid, health insurance costs and coverage, state health policies, prescription drugs, HIV/AIDS, minority health and women’s health. These topics can be researched at both the state and national level. Comparisons of state health statistics are also available.
- Household Products Database
The Household Products Database is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides health and safety information on over 6,000 consumer brands.
- Mayo Clinic: medical information and tools for healthy living
This website is a product of the Mayo Clinic, a world-renowned, non-profit medical institution based in Rochester, Minnesota. It contains information about diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, treatment decisions, and healthy living.
MedicineNet.com is a healthcare media publishing company that is owned and operated by WebMD. This website discusses many health-related issues such as diseases and conditions, symptoms and signs, procedures and tests, medications, and disease prevention. Also included is a dictionary of medical terms.
- MedLine Plus
This website is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It provides information on numerous health topics including conditions, diseases, and wellness. The drug and supplements database contains material on prescription and over-the-counter drugs, herbs, and supplements. Also included in this website are a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
NCAAM is a service of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This website provides scientific information about complementary and alternative healing practices. Users can search the website by either diseases and conditions or treatments and therapies. The website also contains information on research and clinical trials.
- National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics is a service of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Center’s website provides both state and national health statistics.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
The NGC is a service of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Its website allows healthcare providers to obtain objective and detailed information on clinical practice guidelines. The guidelines cover issues such as bioterrorism and natural disasters.
- National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, is a service of the National Institutes of Health. Its website provides information for both the public and healthcare professionals including news, research, and links to other government websites.
- National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for conducting medical research. Research topics include men’s and women’s health, child and teen health, minority health, senior health, and wellness and lifestyle issues. Also included in the website is news and events and grant opportunities.
- National Museum of Health and Medicine
The National Museum of Health and Medicine is a service of Walter Reed Army Medical Center’s Armed Forces Institute of Pathology. Items in the Museum’s collections include anatomical specimens and historical papers, documents, and artifacts. The website includes many online collections of both past and present exhibits.
- The U.S. Administration on Aging (AOA)
The AOA is a service of the Department of Health & Human Services. It provides health and well-being resources for elders and their families, as well as for professionals interested in aging issues.
WebMD contains health information that is edited by healthcare professionals. Topics include diseases and conditions, healthy living, health care services, and pregnancy and family.
- WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory
WebPath was created by Edward C. Klatt MD at the University of Utah. The site includes images and tutorials on general and systemic pathologies.
- World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization is the health agency of the United Nations. The website contains health information organized by both country and disease.