- 19th Century Emigration to the North Americas
This website was created by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). It provides commentary, images, and statistics about emigration from Ireland and Northern Ireland to Canada and the United States. Topics include daily life in Northern Ireland; the British, Canadian, and American governments’ efforts to encourage emigration; the journey to the new land, and immigrants’ assimilation in the new land.
- Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
This foundation is a non-profit partner of the California State Parks and the National Park Service. Its mission is to help preserve and restore the California station and educate the public about this “Pacific gateway to America,” where many immigrants (mostly Asian) arrived in America. Topics include station history and island information. Photographs and related links are also available.
- Angel Island Poetry
This website was created by the English Department of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. It was prepared and compiled by Cary Nelson. Topics include “Major Themes and Influences of the Poems at Angel Island,” an “Angel Island Photo Gallery,” “Text of the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act,” an “Asian American History Timeline,” and more.
- DHS: Immigration Statistics
This website contains immigration statistics provided by the Department of Homeland Security. Topics include “Naturalization Rate Estimates,” “Border Apprehensions,” “Immigration Enforcement Actions,” and “Data on Enforcement Actions.” Also included is the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, which provides both current and historical information.
- Digital History: Ethnic America
The Digital History website is supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. It covers information on immigration and assimilation for specific ethnic groups including African Americans, Mexican Americans, Native Americans, Asian Americans, Irish Americans, and Italian Americans. Also included is an essay titled “Emma Lazarus and Her Vision,” an immigration timeline, and brief essays about different aspects of immigration.
- Ellis Island: FREE Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Users can search Ellis Island’s immigration records by entering the passenger’s name, approximate year of birth, and gender.
- Ellis Island National Monument
Ellis Island National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains information on immigration through the island as well as photographs of the facilities, both past and present.
- From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America
This is an online exhibition presented by the Library of Congress. Included in the website are essays, photographs, and a timeline from 1492 to the present.
- Immigration… The Changing Face of America
This page is a part of the Library of Congress’s “American Memory Project.” It provides an introduction to the study of American immigration, including specific information about the following ethnicities: Native American, African, German, Irish, Scandinavian, Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, Puerto Rican/Cuban, and Polish/Russian. Also included is an immigration timeline that outlines the date, event, and group affected.
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This website is a project of the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. It covers issues in African migration from the Transatlantic Slave Trade to modern African Immigration. The website features a variety of sources including images, maps and texts.
- Korean American Museum
This museum was established in order to interpret and preserve the history, culture, and achievements of the Korean American community. The museum’s website provides historical and statistical information about Koreans in America.
- Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
MPI is a non-partisan, non-profit think tank dedicated to the study of worldwide migration. Topics include both U.S. and European immigration. Also included is a Data Hub with immigration statistics (both current and historical) and Immigration Source, an online journal that provides articles on current immigration information in America and Worldwide.
- National Museum of American Jewish History: Online Exhibitions
This museum, located in Philadelphia’s Independence Hall, is dedicated to collecting, preserving and interpreting artifacts relating to the American Jewish Experience. Its online exhibits cover topics such as Jewish assimilation and Orthodox Jewish communities in America.
- Peopling North America: Population Movements & Migration
This website was created by the Applied History Research Group at the University of Calgary in Canada. Topics covered include early migration; European, African, and Asian immigration; the changing nature of immigration; and immigration after World War II. The website focuses on immigration to both Canada and the United States.
- Statue of Liberty National Monument
Statue of Liberty National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains historical and statistical information about the statue. Photographs are also included.
- U.S. Census Bureau
This website provides both current and historical census information. For current immigration information, go to the American FactFinder. Search for People (Origins and Language) or People (Race and Ethnicity). For historical immigration information, see the Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts.