Skip to main content

ENG141 -- English Composition II: Warren County Community College Library

This guide provides information specific to WCCC's ENG141 classes, covering finding literary criticisms both in print and online, and MLA citation style.

ENG141 Student Learning Outcomes

  • Produce a college-level research essay that demonstrates the ability to evaluate, analyze, and synthesize research material using the conventions of the writing process while employing proper MLA documentation for primary- and secondary sources. 
  • Act ethically and with integrity; demonstrate a fundamental understanding of the boundaries of intellectual property.

Types of Resources

Using the Databases for ENG141

If, by chance, you've never used the databases at WCCC before, click here for a general overview.  

When using the databases for ENG 141, you should stick to EBSCO Discovery Services, as this single database contains multiple literary databases, including Bloom’s Literary Reference, Contemporary Authors, Literary Reference Center, and Literature Resource Center.

It is helpful to include both the name of the author and the title of the short story, poem, play, etc., like this:  

Using AND tells the database that you are looking for articles that mention both Poe and The Tell Tale Heart.


If you come across an article that does not have either the PDF Full-Text or HTML Full-Text option, it might have a link like the one in the picture below:

Just click on the link.  It will take you to a second database where you can get the full-text of the article.

 

What and Why

Literary Analysis

According to Rowan State Community College (n.d.), "Students are asked to write literary analysis essays because this type of assignment encourages you to think about how and why a poem, short story, novel, or play was written.  To successfully analyze literature, you’ll need to remember that authors make specific choices for particular reasons.  Your essay should point out the author’s choices and attempt to explain their significance." 

For more information regarding literary analysis essays, please visit their OWL site.  

Reference Books Available

The WCCC Library has several series of books that are filled with nothing BUT literary criticisms for students to use, including:

  • Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC)
    • CMLC covers the earliest known examples of written works to the 1800s.
  • Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC)
    • NCLC covers literary figures who died between 1800 and 1899
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
    • ​TCLC covers literary figures who Died Between 1900 & 1999 ​
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
    • CLC covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959

 

They are located in the Library's Reference Collection, which is upstairs in the library.  

To use these books, pick out a single volume from one of the series and turn to the Author Index in the back of the book.  Once you find your author, it will list which sets and which volumes literary criticisms; something like this:

Then you go to the series indicated (NCLC in the example), find the right volume (1 in the example), and the entries in the volume are alphabetical by author's last name. 


To cite these books and the information in the books, click here.  

Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882
908.835.2336 wccclibrary@warren.edu

WCC Logo