Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy: Using the Library's Digital Resources

Searching the Library's Databases Step 1

To find out what the library has available for your research, you will need to click on the "Library Resources" tab.

 

You will then see a list of three different databases you can use.  For almost all classes, you will want to choose "EBSCO Discovery Services" because this is the largest database with the most results in all disciplines.  

 

 

Our databases require that you log into them using your NETWORK/EMAIL LOG-IN.

For more information on this, click here.  

 

 

Search Results

Refining Your Search Results

What the Heck is Peer Reviewed and Why the Heck Do I Need It?

(Tarrant, 2012)

“In academic publishing, the goal of peer review is to assess the quality of articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal.

Because a peer-reviewed journal will not publish articles that fail to meet the standards established for a given discipline, peer-reviewed articles that are accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field” (Bladek, 2011). 

 

 

What does this mean for you???

By using scholarly or peer-reviewed articles from our databases you can be sure that:

 
1.The information is factual
2.The research is verifiable
3.YOUR PROFESSOR WILL ACCEPT IT!

 

The BEST Part of Using the Databases...

The EBSCO database has a citation feature that will provide you with a citation for the article you are looking at that you can copy and past into Word.

HOWEVER, it is your responsibility to check that citation against either the WCCC MLA Citation Guide or the WCCC APA Citation Guide to make sure it is correct!

Picture of Gene Wilder (Willy Wonka, 2016)

Page References

References

Bladek, M. (2011, May 2). LibGuides: Evaluating information sources: What is a peer-reviewed article?

          Retrieved from Lloyd Sealy Library,http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/c.php?g=288333&p=1922599

Stalker-Firth, R. (2016, April 14). Storytelling: Narrative, databases, and big data. Retrieved from Musings,

          http://www.ruthstalkerfirth.com/storytelling-narrative-databases-and-big-data

Tarrant, A. (2012).  Peer-review cartoon 2 [online cartoon].  Retrieved from http://www.phd2published.com

          /2012/10/10/sending-a-journal-article-for-peer-review-what-not-to-send-by-anna-tarrant/

Willy Wonka [Web graphic]. (2016). Retrieved from http://thebertshow.com/gene-wilder-died/

 

Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882
908.835.2336 wccclibrary@warren.edu

WCC Logo