WCCC Library: Nursing

The American Heart Association is a national voluntary health agency to help reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. The association’s website provides information about the warning signs of heart disease, diseases and conditions, children’s health, and healthy living. Also included in the website is a Heart & Stroke Encyclopedia. Web content is also available in Spanish.

The American Cancer Society is a national, voluntary health organization whose focus is eliminating cancer. Its website contains detailed information about specific types of cancer. It also includes facts and figures, statistics, information on treatment and clinical trials, and real life stories.

The American Stroke Association is solely focused on reducing disability and death from stroke. The association’s website provides a definition of the disease, warning signs, and recovery information, as well as a link specifically for healthcare professionals. Also included in the website is a Heart & Stroke Encyclopedia. Web content is also available in Spanish.

The Arthritis Foundation supports individuals with arthritis and related conditions. The foundation’s website contains articles about conditions and treatments, events and programs, advocacy, and research.

The goal of this foundation is to prevent pediatric HIV infection. The website includes information about AIDS, such as definition, symptoms, treatment, transmission, facts and statistics. Also included on the website is grant application and donation information.

The FAAN is an organization of families, dieticians, healthcare professionals, and representatives from the government and food and pharmaceutical industries. The Network seeks to inform the public about issues surrounding food allergies and anaphylaxis. Topics covered on the website include common food allergies, advocacy, research, and recipes.

This program is a component of the Health Resources and Services Administration. It consolidates all programs funded under the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act, which was intended to support the quality and availability of healthcare for people with AIDS. The website contains information about the care and treatment of Hepatitis C and HIV co-infection, a pocket guide to adult HIV/AIDS treatment, and an AIDS healthcare progress report.

The NCPTSD is a service of the U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs. The Center provides research and education about Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in order to promote and advance the health and social welfare of military veterans. The website contains an information center that lists the definition, causes, and common reactions to PTSD and the types of treatment available.

NIAID is a component of the National Institutes of Health. The Institutes aim is to conduct and support research for the treatment and prevention of infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases. The website’s topics include an index of diseases, news and events, and NIAID’s areas of research.

This organization’s aim is to assist people with rare diseases and the institutions that help them. The website includes indexes and databases on organizations and rare diseases. Abstracts are available for free online but there is a charge for the full reports.

OncoLink is a cancer resource from the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Its aim is to provide patients, families, healthcare providers and the general public with free and accurate information about the disease. Topics include types of cancer, cancer treatment, coping with cancer, clinical trials, resources and news. There is also an “Ask the Expert” feature that allows users to ask a question and have it answered and posted on the website.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It provides accurate and timely information about clinical trials of human volunteers. Information can be sorted by disease type and/or location of the volunteer.

This website is a product of Consumers Union, the publisher of Consumer Reports. It seeks to educate consumers about prescription medications. Features of the website include drug reports that can be searched by disease or drug name, money saving guides, and medicare information. Web content is also provided in Spanish.

Drugs.com is an online database that provides information on more than 24,000 over-the-counter and prescription medications. Searches can be performed for both drugs and natural products. A medical dictionary, health encyclopedia, and Care Guide are also included on the website.

Nutrition.gov is a service of the National Agricultural Library, which is a product of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. It provides government information about food and nutrition. Items include a calorie and nutrient finder, which provides information on food from all food groups including baby foods, baked products, fast foods, and more, and “MyPyramid Plan,” which determines types and amounts of food that individuals should eat based on age, sex, and activity level.

RXList is a service of WebMD. The website contains information about side effects, drug interactions, imprint codes, NDC codes, and more.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Featured topics include children’s mental health, suicide prevention, youth violence prevention, and state and national data.

The AHRQ is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Its website provides research and data on the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care in America.

ACSH was founded by a group of scientists in order to bring a scientific basis to health issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, and the environment.

The CDC is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. The website provides information regarding the control and prevention of infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, and environmental health concerns. Information on travelers’ health for specific destinations is also provided.

The Food and Drug Administration is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. The website provides information on products the FDA regulates, including food, drugs, medical devices, biologics, animal feed and drugs, cosmetics, and radiation-emitting products.

This website is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides information on genetic disorders and related genes and chromosomes. A genetics handbook and glossary are also available.

GlobalHealth.gov is a component of the United States Department of Health & Human Services. This office provides statistics, reports, and publications related to global health.

The Kaiser Family Foundation is a private organization that provides information on major health policy issues in the United States. Topics covered include Medicare, Medicaid, health insurance costs and coverage, state health policies, prescription drugs, HIV/AIDS, minority health and women’s health. These topics can be researched at both the state and national level. Comparisons of state health statistics are also available.

The Household Products Database is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides health and safety information on over 6,000 consumer brands.

This website is a product of the Mayo Clinic, a world-renowned, non-profit medical institution based in Rochester, Minnesota. It contains information about diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, treatment decisions, and healthy living.

MedicineNet.com is a healthcare media publishing company that is owned and operated by WebMD. This website discusses many health-related issues such as diseases and conditions, symptoms and signs, procedures and tests, medications, and disease prevention. Also included is a dictionary of medical terms.

This website is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It provides information on numerous health topics including conditions, diseases, and wellness. The drug and supplements database contains material on prescription and over-the-counter drugs, herbs, and supplements. Also included in this website are a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.

NCAAM is a service of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This website provides scientific information about complementary and alternative healing practices. Users can search the website by either diseases and conditions or treatments and therapies. The website also contains information on research and clinical trials.

The National Center for Health Statistics is a service of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Center’s website provides both state and national health statistics.

The NGC is a service of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Its website allows healthcare providers to obtain objective and detailed information on clinical practice guidelines. The guidelines cover issues such as bioterrorism and natural disasters.

The National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, is a service of the National Institutes of Health. Its website provides information for both the public and healthcare professionals including news, research, and links to other government websites.

The National Institutes of Health, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for conducting medical research. Research topics include men’s and women’s health, child and teen health, minority health, senior health, and wellness and lifestyle issues. Also included in the website is news and events and grant opportunities.

The National Museum of Health and Medicine is a service of Walter Reed Army Medical Center’s Armed Forces Institute of Pathology. Items in the Museum’s collections include anatomical specimens and historical papers, documents, and artifacts. The website includes many online collections of both past and present exhibits.

The AOA is a service of the Department of Health & Human Services. It provides health and well-being resources for elders and their families, as well as for professionals interested in aging issues.

WebMD contains health information that is edited by healthcare professionals. Topics include diseases and conditions, healthy living, health care services, and pregnancy and family.

WebPath was created by Edward C. Klatt MD at the University of Utah. The site includes images and tutorials on general and systemic pathologies.

The World Health Organization is the health agency of the United Nations. The website contains health information organized by both country and disease.

Resources for New Jersey residents regarding healthy living, community plans, and tools and resources for well-being

CampusRN.com is a subsidiary of CampusCareerCenter.com. The website helps students who are seeking nursing jobs to find employers nationwide. Job seekers can post resumes, browse job postings, and read articles on resume tips and nursing careers.

The New Jersey Board of Nursing is a component of the Department of Law & Public Safety. The Board licenses registered and practical nurses and regulates nursing in New Jersey. The website provides practical information for New Jersey nurses such as reporting guidelines, licensee directories, and licensing and certification fact sheets.

This is the official website of the American Nurses Association (ANA). It includes links to information about nursing careers, ANA position statements, advanced practice, patient safety, nursing shortages, etc. Also included are links to ANA publications.

Edited by Mark H. Beers, MD

Edited by Gooloo S. Wunderlich, Frank Sloan and Carolyne K. Davis

By the Committee on Communication for Behavior Change in the 21st Century: Improving the Health of Diverse Populations, Board on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health

Published by BioMed Central; London, UK

Published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Atlanta, GA

This website is maintained by Bernd Sebastian Kamps. It provides links to numerous free medical journals.

Published by Internet Scientific Publications, LLC; Sugar Land, TX

Published by Gannett Healthcare Group; Hoffman Estates, IL

Published by Kent State University College of Nursing; Kent, OH

Published by the Online Journal of Nursing Informatics Corporation (OJNIC); Kittanning, PA

Published by the Rural Nurse Organization; Tuscaloosa, AL

Published by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion; Atlanta, GA

This First Aid Guide provides vital information concerning what to do for various life-threatening emergencies. It is published by the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research (MFMER).

This website contains definitions of medical terms. It is published by MedicineNet.com.

The AMSN is an organization of medical-surgical nurses that focuses on adult health. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

Alpha Tau Delta is the national fraternity for nurses. It provides nurses with educational opportunities including scholarships, networking, and guidance. Membership is available to students and alumni of NLN accredited nursing schools (baccalaureate or higher degree programs).

The AAACN is an organization of nurses that focuses on excellence in ambulatory care. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The AANP is an organization for nurse practitioners. Membership includes career and scholarship information and free access to both print and online publications. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The American Academy of Nursing evaluates developing trends in healthcare and addresses resulting health policy and practice. Membership is limited to professional nurses.

The AAMN provides a forum for members of the nursing community to discuss issues that affect men in the nursing profession. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students (male and female).

The mission of the AACN is to provide respectful, healing, and humane environments for critically ill patients and their families. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The goal of the AAHN is to better understand present and future issues in the nursing profession by first understanding those of the past. The organization serves to educate the public, encourage the collection and preservation of historical nursing items, and promote the study of nursing history in nursing curricula. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The AHNA is dedicated to bringing the concepts of holism to all areas of nursing practice through education, research, communication, and self-care. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The American Hospital Association represents hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities by bringing their needs and perspectives to government health organizations. Membership is only available to professional organizations and institutions.

ANIA provides networking, education, and information resources in order to strengthen various informatics disciplines, including clinical, educational, and administrative support. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The ANA recommends high standards of nursing practice, promotes nurses’ economic and general welfare, and lobbies government institutions on health care issues in nursing. Membership is limited to professional nurses.

The APNA is committed to the promotion of health and wellness and the prevention, care, and treatment of people with psychiatric disorders. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The APHA works to protect individuals and communities from preventable, serious health threats. Membership is available for both health care professionals and students.

The ASPMN promotes high standards of pain management through education, standards, advocacy and research. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The Emergency Nurses Association promotes excellence in emergency nursing through leadership, research, education, and advocacy. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The mission of the NASN is to promote student success through the advancement of school nursing practice. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The NLN’s mission is to promote excellence in nursing education through faculty development programs, networking opportunities, testing and assessment, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives. Membership is limited to professional nurses.

The NSNA provides educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance to future nurses. Membership includes free access to the Association’s publications and information about job and scholarship opportunities. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The mission of the NJLN is to advance quality nursing education in New Jersey. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The purpose of the NJNS is to aid in the transition of individuals from nursing students to professional nurses. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The goal of the NJPHA is to support the cause of public health in New Jersey through education and scientific research. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The NJSNA advances the nursing profession through the implementation of standards, education, research, and the delivery of quality health care services. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The ONS is dedicated to excellence in patient care, education, research, and administration in oncology nursing. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The RNO was founded in order to meet the educational and clinical needs of rural nurses. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The goal of this honor society is to improve nursing care around the world by providing leadership and scholarship in nursing practice, education and research. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.

The Transcultural Nursing Society was founded by Madeleine Leininger in 1974. The organization’s mission is to improve the quality of cultural competence in practice, education, research, and administration. Membership is available for both professional nurses and nursing students.