Last Updated: Jul 11, 2017
- Digital Collections
This website is a Digital Scholarship Service presented by the University of Virginia. It provides full-text online access to books and manuscripts. Some subject areas are restricted to University of Virginia users. Others, including The Modern English Collection, The Middle English Collection, and Early American Fiction, are available to all users.
- Harlem Renaissance
This website was created by scholars at John Carroll University. It contains information about education, performers, the French connection, literature, political issues, religion and philosophy. It also contains a list of links to other websites about the Harlem Renaissance.
- Library of Southern Literature
The Library of Southern Literature is part of Documenting the American South, a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The website provides full-text online access to primary resources, text, and images about the Southern United States. This literature section contains song lyrics, images, text, and fiction. The database can be browsed by subject or alphabetically by the author’s last name.
- The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page was founded and edited by John Mark Ockerbloom, a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. It indexes and links to over 25,000 full-text, online books. The books can be searched by title, author, subject, or Library of Congress Call Number.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg was the first producer of free, online books. There are more than 20,000 books available in this database. It includes print and audio books in the public domain as well as some copyrighted books (when authors have given their permission to Project Gutenberg to freely distribute their books online). Users can browse the database by subject or author. They can also search by title, author, subject, and more.
- Women Writers Resource Project
Emory University’s Women Writers Resource Project provides a collection of full-text documents written by women between the seventeenth and nineteenth centuries. The works can be browsed alphabetically by title or author. They can also be searched by keyword, author’s ethnicity, genre, country, or date.
- American Verse Project
This is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The goal is to archive American poetry written before 1920. The poems can be searched by title, author, or keyword.
- Contemporary American Poetry Archive (CAPA)
CAPA is an electronic poetry archive of out-of-print volumes of poetry. It is designed and maintained by Connecticut College. The archive is organized alphabetically by the author’s last name.
- Fooling with Words with Bill Moyers
This is a companion site to Bill Moyers’ television show on PBS. It contains poetry, poets’ biographical information, a style sheet for revising poetry, and links to many other online poetry resources.
- Geraldine R. Dodge Poetry Festival
The Geraldine R. Dodge Poetry Festival, founded in 1986 at Waterloo Village in Stanhope, NJ, is the largest poetry festival in North America. The website provides information about past festivals and performers.
- Poetry Daily
Poetry Daily is a publication of the Daily Poetry Association. Each day a new poem is published on the site. Poems are taken from books, magazines and journals that are currently in print. Poems are archived for one year from their first appearance on Poetry Daily.
This website is hosted by the Academy of American Poets. It features essays, interviews, and prose about poets and poetry. Full-text access to almost 2,000 poems is also available.
- Representative Poetry Online
This electronic version of Representative Poetry is edited by Ian Lancashire. It is based on the book Representative Poetry, which was edited by University of Toronto professors W.J. Alexander and William Hall Clawson in 1912. The website contains an index to poems (searchable by author, date, keyword or title); a timeline of poets, poems, and related events; a glossary of poetic forms and terms; editor’s commentaries; and a bibliography with links to online sources.
- Glossary of Literary and Rhetorical Terms
This list of popular literary and rhetorical terms was compiled by Jack Lynch, an Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University.
- The Writing Center
This website is a product of the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Topics include Stages of the Writing Process, Common Types of Writing Assignments, Grammar and Punctuation, Improving Your Writing Style, and Citing References in Your Paper.
- American Comparative Literature Association (ACLA)
The American Comparative Literature Association is dedicated to the study of intercultural relations in literature as well as to the relationship between literature and other areas of study. Membership is open to both students and faculty.
- The Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP)
The Association of Writers and Writing Programs is interested in developing literary talent and achievement. Membership is open to anyone interested in the developing their writing skills.
- Poetry Society of America (PSA)
The goal of the Poetry Society of America is to create an environment for American poets to meet and learn. Membership is open to anyone interested in the art of poetry. Membership to the Society’s listserv is free.
- New Jersey Poetry Society, Inc. (NJPS)
Members of the New Jersey Poetry Society, Inc. are interested in furthering their own and other’s ability to write poetry. The Society hosts many events and contests every year. Membership is open to anyone interested in the art of poetry.
- Society for the Study of American Women Writers (SSAWW)
The Society for the Study of American Women Writers promotes the study of these writers through research, teaching and publication. Membership is open to anyone interested in the study of American Women Writers.