Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science Resources
Are you having an annoying problem with Microsoft Windows? Check this Web site for answers to Windows questions. Use the menu box on the left to browse frequently asked questions in different categories such as Customizing, Networking, and Applications, or click on the search link at the upper right side of the page to use keywords describing your problem. The site also includes a “tips for beginners” feature on its Getting Started page for introductory information on using Windows.
The goal of this Web site is to help you learn C and C++ programming. It includes resources, tutorials, and quizzes. Information is available about compilers for turning your source code into a running program.
Computer Hope’s Free Computer Help
This site which rates high marks for content and currency is an online aid for all computer problems. You can type your questions into the search box or browse through the links on the left to find information on viruses, hardware, and software. A computer dictionary is available as well as “Visitor Favorites” and “What’s New” pages.
Data Communications Basics
CAMI Research Inc. describes how data is transmitted and includes information on subjects such as data encryption, parity and check sums, and synchronous vs. asynchronous data.
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
Computer scientist Paul E. Black at the National Institute of Standards and Technology provides this online dictionary of terms related to algorithms, algorithmic techniques, and data structures.
Extreme Programming: a gentle introduction
This site describes a software programming methodology that emphasizes keeping source code simple, involving the customer during development, being responsive to changes from your customer, and testing frequently.
GCF Global Learning: Your source for free computer training
GCFLearnFree.org offers self-paced or instructor-led computer classes at their Web site. You need to register, but it is free of charge. Examples of classes are Internet Basics, Social Media, and Microsoft Office.
This site is an online library of historical Web sites. It aims to preserve Web pages so that they will continue to be available for future generations.
Internet Traffic Report
This Web site tracks data transmission speed and reliability across the globe. You can see when different regions of the world are experiencing Internet slow-downs.
The history, design, and use of the Internet as well as the World Wide Web, email, chat, lists, and the Usenet are described at this informative and well-organized site.
Microsoft Help and Support
Microsoft offers help for all its products at this site. You can click on the menu items at the left for product support centers, technical communities, and downloads. You can also use keywords to type your question into a search box at the top of the page or browse the links in the center of the page for common issues and solutions.
NIST Computer Security Division’s CSRC Home Page
The National Institute of Standards and Technology from the U.S. Department of Commerce offers information on computer and network security at this site. News, laws and regulations, and publications such as Bulletins or Inter-Agency Reports are available here.
Online Practice Modules
This site from Internet 4 Classrooms is intended to be a professional development tool for teachers that provides instruction in the use of various computer programs including Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Dreamweaver, Inspiration and Hyperstudio. Information about Internet Explorer, Netscape, Macintosh, and Windows PC is also included.
The UNIX System
The Open Group, dedicated to the open and integrated flow of information to support business operability, offers this site on UNIX. You can learn about the history of UNIX, the Single UNIX Specification, and online versions of the specification.
UNIX Tutorial for Beginners
This site has an introduction and eight tutorials for learning UNIX that cover topics such as files and directories, UNIX commands, processes and jobs, source code, and variables.
Managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this site tells you how to make “usable and useful” Web sites – sites that meets your users’ needs. The step-by-step approach involves planning, analyzing, designing, and testing your design. The “Program the site” page has information about making your site accessible to people with disabilities.
This project was funded by the European Union to provide information and resources to usability practitioners. Use the “Tools & Methods” tab to find some good suggestions on text, navigation, and page design on the “Design Guidelines for Web” page. This site also directs you to university programs, distance learning opportunities, and resources for designing functional Graphical User Interfaces (GUI).
Webmonkey: The Web Developer’s Resource
Graphic Design Resources
Mike’s Sketch Pad
This site has numerous tutorials for graphic design software programs including Photoshop, QuarkXpress, Corel, and Canvas. Free fonts and tips for drawing basics can also be found here.
Sponsored by a graphics design company, My Design Studio, this Web site brings information and resources to anyone interested in learning print and Web design. It has an equipment overview, hardware and software information, graphics information such as file formats and color modes, font terms and tips, and printing and Web design information.
Quark VS InDesign
In the war between QuarkXpress and Adboe InDesign for dominance in the world of desktop publishing, this site is poised to answer the professional publisher’s questions by offering tutorials, tips and tricks, product evaluations, and articles in a blog-like format.
Barkley’s OASIS® Comprehensive Technology Glossary
This online glossary explaining computer terms is from Barkley International, a provider of business services including tech solutions.
Glossary for Scientific Visualization
This page defines terms related to the science of representing data graphically and understanding that data.
NetLingo Country Codes
This is a list of two-letter country code abbreviations from NetLingo, the provider of the lexicon for today’s Internet-influenced culture.
NetLingo: The Internet Dictionary
This site lists current and common Internet and business jargon with each term hyper linked to its definition. Terms within those definitions are also hyper linked, so you can easily navigate your way around this site finding out what all the new jargon means. Extensive listings of smileys (emoticons) and shorthand for text messaging are also included.
This high-tech reference really teaches the jargon, phrases and buzzwords of this industry. We use consistent terminology across all topics from chips to virtual assistants.
Webopedia: Online Tech Dictionary for Students, Educators and IT Professionals
This is an online dictionary for computer and Internet terms from the publisher of Web Developer’s Journal. A “Quick Reference” area gives information on topics such as buying LCD vs. plasma flat-screen TVs and tips on fixing a slow-running computer. A “Did You Know. . . “ area answers questions such as “When Is Downloading Music on the Internet Illegal?” and “What Can VoIP Do For You?”
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882