Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bank for International Settlements
The Bank for International Settlements provides this list of links to the central banks of every country.
BEOnline: Business and Economics Online
The Library of Congress maintains this extensive listing of Internet resources related to business and economics. The hyperlinked sites are browsable by title or subject.
Better Business Bureau
From this page you can click on the link for the Better Business Bureau’s national Web site or enter your zip code to be directed to your local BBB. The local New Jersey site has articles from the BBB news center and information for consumers or businesses. Consumers can enter a complaint about a business or check out a business or charity. Use the drop down menu at the right to access services for military members or parents.
This site has overviews of various business careers as well as listings of skills required for particular jobs, facts and trends for different fields of work, and the top firms for seeking employment. Information about working for non-profits is also included. The information on salaries is outdated.
Center for Advanced Human Resource Studies (CAHRS)—Working Paper Series
CAHRS is a partnership between Cornell University and leading businesses to foster research into human resource management and its application for practical use. This Working Paper Series has links to scholarly studies in PDF format on critical issues from 1987 to present.
Center for Ethical Business Cultures
The mission of the non-profit CEBC is to help business leaders in creating ethical corporate environments. Through its academic partnership with the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota, this organization combines research and education with practical business concerns. The site includes information about its seminars and business simulations.
CommerceNet: Companies, Code, Community
This site is an online forum for businesses world-wide to share information and ideas. It is committed to enhancing the use of the Internet for entrepreneurial and commercial exchange.
The World Bank Group provides this site to examine regulatory practices in 178 countries that affect business. The Economy Rankings page analyzes 10 indicators (e.g., getting credit, paying taxes, and enforcing contracts) for ease of doing business for each country. The Law Library is a searchable online collection of regulations and laws on all aspects of business in the different economies.
This site provides research, resources, and links concerning ethics in business and includes a “Grey Matters” ethics training game from Lockheed Martin and a 10-week online ethics certification course.
Edward Lowe Foundation
The Foundation believes that entrepreneurship drives the economy and seeks to support entrepreneurs with programs and information. The focus is on peer-to-peer assistance such as coaching and mentoring for “second-stage” businesses, or those that are past the start-up phase.
The International Business Center at Michigan State University wanted to categorize business information for Internet research. This site includes industry profiles and international marketing indicators. The Country Comparator in the Country Insights section lets you create statistical reports on 10 countries at a time.
Look past the extensive advertising on this Web site to find loads of information on businesses, industries, and people.
Human Resources and the Internet
The Catherwood Library at Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations provides this online guide to free resources concerning human resources and personnel management. Use the drop-down menu in the center of the page to find linked resources on benefits, discrimination or immigration law, and safety. The menus on the right and left guide you to Cornell resources on topics such as workplace diversity and employment and disability.
Institute for Global Ethics
Dedicated to promoting ethical behavior in institutions as well as in individuals and nations, the IGE offers consultant services to build workplace ethics. The resources at this Web site include the journal, “Ethical Connections,” White Papers on ethics situations, and news releases. Use the links in the left menu to explore dilemmas, access the weekly publication, “Ethics Newsline,” or study “Ethical Literacy,” a model curriculum for teaching the development of ethical decision mak
International Business Ethics Institute
This site describes the current research of the IBEI, including, “Creating a Non-Retaliatory Workplace.” Also available are selected articles from its publication, “International Business Ethics Review.” You can access information about a fellowship for MBA students, internships for graduate and undergraduate students, and program assistance for developing corporate responsibility initiatives.
International Finance Corporation
A member of The World Bank, the IFC provides loans, products, and advisory services to foster private sector investment in developing countries.
New Jersey Division of Revenue: Business Forms for Commercial Recording
Access information and directions for filing business forms in the state at this site from the New Jersey Department of the Treasury. The forms are available for downloading.
NJ Business Portal
New Jersey brings you this valuable Web site with extensive information on starting, operating, and expanding a business in the Garden State. Some of the resources are a step-by-step wizard for starting your own business, information on New Jersey taxes, incentives, and disaster preparedness, and a real estate search function for office space.
New Jersey Small Business Development Centers
Funded by the Rutgers Business School and the state and federal government, the NJSBDC provides training and consultants to help small business owners. Resources on the Web site include issues of its publication, “The Small Business Voice,” and articles on issues from designing your own logo to competitive intelligence.
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission provides EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system so that investors may have timely corporate information. The information can be downloaded for free. Use the red links in the center of the page to take a quick tutorial on using EDGAR or to search for company information. Follow the tab for “Fast Answers” for informative entries on an extensive list of topics.
A global strategy and technology consulting firm publishes this Web site along with books and a quarterly magazine to offer guidance on management, policy, and strategy for business executives.
United States Department of the Treasury
This site has the authority of the federal government behind it and is extremely current. Use this site to access extensive information about financial and economic systems. Information is available about taxes, bonds and securities, coins and paper money, health savings accounts, and international markets and trade.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
The federal agency that oversees the securities markets brings investors this Web site with information on litigation and regulatory matters; news, speeches and public statements; staff interpretations to aide in compliance with laws and regulations; and investor information such as tips for checking out financial advisers and safeguarding your personal information in online brokerage accounts.
The U.S.A. Home Based Business
This site for home-based businesses has information on entrepreneurial schools, marketing your business, and self-publishing. An online bookstore for home business resources is included. Examples of home businesses discussed here are condo ownership/rentals and franchises.
United States Small Business Administration
The mission of the SBA is to help Americans “start, build and grow businesses.” This comprehensive site includes a Small Business Planner; programs and services on financial, counseling, and disaster assistance; free online self-paced courses; and tools such as forms and Web chats. Choose “Most Requested Items” from the menu on the left to find the answers to questions such as “How do I get started in a business?” and “How do I get a small business loan?”
The World Bank
The World Bank aims to reduce global poverty and improve living conditions by supplying low-interest loans, interest-free loans, and grants to developing countries. Some of the services on their Web site are: data and research on countries, climate, conflict, and poverty; educational forums, Web casts, and courses; and news in the form of speeches, press releases, and commentaries.
Michigan State University publishes this online dictionary of international business terms and acronyms. Use the search box or browse alphabetically to find a term.
Investopedia.com: Financial Dictionary
An investing dictionary from Cory Janssen & Cory Wagner that also includes tutorials, articles, and an investment stimulator where you can virtually practice investing $100,000.
This is a financial glossary with over 6,000 definitions from WebFinance, Inc. Related terms and research articles are linked from each definition.
Small Business Encyclopedia
In addition to entering your term in the search box or browsing alphabetically, you can browse by category (such as “Accounting” or “Employee Management”) in this encyclopedia from Entrepreneur.com.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882