Skip to Main Content
Local History (New Jersey and Warren County)
About Warren County…Past and Present
A part of the official Warren County web page, this site offers a glimpse into the county’s beginnings and how various inventions, such as railroads, impacted the county’s history.
Canal Society of New Jersey
This web page offers not only history of the Morris Canal, but also maps and photos and a virtual tour of the canal.
Changing Landscape of Warren County, New Jersey, The
From Rutgers, this website offers scans of historic Warren County maps.
Electronic New Jersey: A Digital Archive of New Jersey History
This website consists of resources on New Jersey history, taken from the Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives, the New Jersey State Archives and the New Jersey Historical Society. Topics covered include the American Revolution, the Civil War, Jersey Homesteads, Paul Robeson, the Cold War, World War II, women’s suffrage, mass culture and consumerism, social protests of the 1960’s and 1970’s, and science and technology.
Historic Sites of Warren County
Offered by the Warren County web site, this document offers more insight into the beginnings of the county and its towns, as well as information on 78 specific historical sites such as the Bird House, the Morris Canal, and the Seigle Homestead.
My RAUB (and more) Ancestry
This is a personal website that was originally created to determine the genealogy of the Raub family of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. It was expanded to include links to a number of local births, cemeteries, baptisms, historical photographs, Warren Journal entries, church and town histories, and more.
New Jersey History
The Kean University New Jersey History Project website.
New Jersey Women’s History
This website was created by the Women’s Project of New Jersey, Inc. It includes documents and images by and about New Jersey women. It also features an E-classroom, where students can learn about specific issues affecting women throughout New Jersey’s history. Directions and visiting hours to landmarks associated with famous New Jersey women are also available.
New Jersey’s Great Northwest Skylands – Historical Sites and Museums
This website was created to inform readers about the culture, attractions, history and culture of northwestern New Jersey. The historical section provides links to websites with local details about the Revolutionary War; the industrial era; transportation, rivers and railroads; and agriculture.
NJDARM: New Jersey State Archives
The New Jersey State Archives operates a research center for historic public records. It holds nearly 33,000 cubic feet of paper records and over 28,000 reels of microfilm. Online resources include “Searchable Databases,” “Image collections,” and “Documentary Treasures.” Articles from New Jersey State Archives eNews are also available.
Sanborn Maps of New Jersey: Warren County
The Sanborn Mapping Company, founded in 1866, is the oldest mapping company in New Jersey. Their historical maps from the 1880s to the 1920s have been digitized by Princeton University.
New Jersey State Archives: Searchable Databases and Records Request Forms
The New Jersey State Archives’ Searchable Databases and Records Request Forms page allows you to search and order information regarding the following: Birth, Marriage, and Death Records; Land, Probate and Court Records; Military and Wartime Records; and Photograph Collections.
Warren County Cultural & Heritage Commission
This page focuses mostly on the historic Shippen sights, including Shippen Manor and the Oxford Furnace. This is a great place for current and historic pictures from Oxford and surrounding towns.
Warren County NJGenWeb Project
The NJ GenWeb Project offers free New Jersey genealogy and history resources to the general public. This includes local information (borough, towns, townships, cemeteries, county history, local place names), genealogy tools (family and surname websites, record resource guides, surname registry), and other quick links.
Warren County, New Jersey Genealogical Records Information
This website, maintained by Genealogy, Inc, provides a list of links to Warren County, N.J. historical resources including court records, vital records, census records, tax records, military records, maps and atlases, genealogy addresses, and churches and cemeteries.
African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
This website is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project. It includes essays and images about black Americans from the early national period through the twentieth century. Topics include slavery, the Civil War, Abolition, Civil Rights, and more.
American Memory Timeline
This website is part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory project. It links to primary sources on a variety of topics in American history, beginning in 1763 and ending in 1969. Subjects include the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, expansion, industrialization, the Great Depression, World War II, and post-war America.
This website was designed and supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. It consists of texts and images of events in American history. Topics include immigration, reconstruction, and social history. Also included on the website are an interactive timeline and links to court cases and newspaper articles.
Documenting the American South
This is a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University of North Carolina’s University Library. It contains books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs in three formats: texts, images and audio files. All of the material on this website relates to the history, literature, and culture of the southern United States.
From the Home Front and the Front Lines
Information for this online exhibition was collected for the Library of Congress’s Veterans History Project. Resources include photographs, diary excerpts, letters, maps, and other historical items from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Persian Gulf War.
Liberty! - The American Revolution
This resource, published by PBS, chronicles the events of the Revolutionary War from 1774 to 1791. In addition to discussion of the major events of the war, the website also includes information about daily colonial life, world events at the time, and military perspectives of the American and British soldiers.
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
This online exhibition, created by the Library of Congress, showcases the relationship between religion and the foundation of the United States of America. Topics include America as a religious refuge, religion in the eighteenth century, religion during the American Revolution, religion and state and federal governments, and religion in the new republic. Historical documents and images are included on this site.
Spy Letters of the American Revolution
This site was created by graduate students at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. It includes spy letters from historical figures including George Washington, Paul Revere, and Benedict Arnold (both coded and decoded). A timeline, maps of the routes the letters took, and stories about the letters' histories and importance are included. Spy methods and techniques, including secret code, invisible ink, captured letters, intelligence, mask letters, and quill letters, are also discussed.
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Institute promotes the study of American history to teachers, students, and the general public. In addition to seminars and exhibits at the site’s physical location in New York, the Institute showcases online exhibits on its website. These exhibits cover topics such as Alexander Hamilton and the creation of the United States, the Dred Scott decision, a history of American freedom, war letters, and Lincoln in the media. The website also includes interactive features, such as songs and maps.
The Triangle Factory Fire
Presented by Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations, the story the 1911 Triangle Factory Fire in New York City includes information about sweatshops and strikes, the fire, mourning and protests, relief, and the investigation, trial, and eventual reform. Sources include primary documents, photographs and illustrations, and audio clips.
The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
The Virginia Center for Digital History’s Valley Project is a collection of primary sources that chronicle life during the Civil War in two communities: Augusta County, VA and Franklin County, PA. The site includes thousands of letters, diaries, church and government records, speeches, newspaper articles, maps and images.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
This website provides a history of the United States military. Topics include force structure support, organizational history, images (including artwork and photographs), and the Medal of Honor. Users of the site can also view and print online military publications.
Voices of Civil Rights
This site, presented by the AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, and the Library of Congress, documents events that took place during the Civil Rights Movement. It consists of personal narratives, oral histories, photographs and posters. Also included are a glossary of Civil Rights terminology, an interactive timeline, and a Voices of Civil Rights music video.
19th Century Emigration to the North Americas
This website was created by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). It provides commentary, images, and statistics about emigration from Ireland and Northern Ireland to Canada and the United States. Topics include daily life in Northern Ireland; the British, Canadian, and American governments’ efforts to encourage emigration; the journey to the new land, and immigrants’ assimilation in the new land.
Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
This foundation is a non-profit partner of the California State Parks and the National Park Service. Its mission is to help preserve and restore the California station and educate the public about this “Pacific gateway to America,” where many immigrants (mostly Asian) arrived in America. Topics include station history and island information. Photographs and related links are also available.
Angel Island Poetry
This website was created by the English Department of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. It was prepared and compiled by Cary Nelson. Topics include “Major Themes and Influences of the Poems at Angel Island,” an “Angel Island Photo Gallery,” “Text of the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act,” an “Asian American History Timeline,” and more.
Homeland Security: Immigration Data & Statistics
This website contains immigration statistics provided by the Department of Homeland Security. Topics include “Naturalization Rate Estimates,” “Border Apprehensions,” “Immigration Enforcement Actions,” and “Data on Enforcement Actions.” Also included is the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, which provides both current and historical information.
Digital History: Voices
The Digital History website is supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. The "Voices" section of the site provides essays regarding the immigration experience through the eyes of those who experienced it first hand.
Ellis Island: FREE Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Users can search Ellis Island’s immigration records by entering the passenger’s name, approximate year of birth, and gender.
Ellis Island National Monument
Ellis Island National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains information on immigration through the island as well as photographs of the facilities, both past and present.
From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America
This is an online exhibition presented by the Library of Congress. Included in the website are essays, photographs, and a timeline from 1492 to the present.
History of International Migration
This website is a project of Universiteit Leiden in the Netherlands. Its goal is to provide researchers with documents and other information related to European migration from 700,000 BC to the present. Topics include descriptions of migration movements, causes and consequences of migration, and reactions to migration.
Immigration… The Changing Face of America
This page is a part of the Library of Congress’s “American Memory Project.” It provides an introduction to the study of American immigration, including specific information about the following ethnicities: Native American, African, German, Irish, Scandinavian, Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, Puerto Rican/Cuban, and Polish/Russian. Also included is an immigration timeline that outlines the date, event, and group affected.
Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
MPI is a non-partisan, non-profit think tank dedicated to the study of worldwide migration. Topics include both U.S. and European immigration. Also included is a Data Hub with immigration statistics (both current and historical) and Immigration Source, an online journal that provides articles on current immigration information in America and Worldwide.
Statue of Liberty National Monument
Statue of Liberty National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains historical and statistical information about the statue. Photographs are also included.
U.S. Census Bureau
This website provides both current and historical census information. For current immigration information, go to the American FactFinder. Search for People (Origins and Language) or People (Race and Ethnicity). For historical immigration information, see the Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts.
1492: An Ongoing Voyage
This online exhibition is presented by the Library of Congress. It documents life in the different parts of the world that were affected by Columbus’s famous voyage. Topics covered in this site include European life before 1492, the events that led to European expansion, and the first interactions between Europeans, Africans, and Americans. The collection includes primary documents such as images and maps.
Asia for Educators
This website is an initiative of Columbia University’s East Asian Curriculum Project and the Project on Asia in the Core Curriculum. The site is navigable by subject type, such as art, literature, religion, and economy; file type, such as timelines and maps; and time periods, from 4000 BCE to the present.
This comprehensive history website, created by the British Broadcasting Corporation, contains information on Ancient History, British History, World Wars, and Recent History. The site includes image galleries and interactive features such as games, timelines, audio and video.
Cold War International History Project
This website, which is a project of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, provides information about the history of the Cold War, based on sources from both the West and the newly accessible former Communist countries.
Encyclopaedia Britannica’s Guide to Women’s History
This website chronicles the lives of three hundred famous women in history. There is also a timeline of women and women’s issues from Antiquity to the present, as well as some primary documents and famous quotations.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
This site was created in collaboration with the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at the City University of New York. It provides researchers with a thorough overview of the French Revolution that includes over 600 primary documents, 350 text documents, 250 images, essays maps, songs, a glossary and a timeline.
Manas: History and Politics of India
This website was created and designed by professors at UCLA. It covers the culture, landscape, religions, diaspora, social issues, history and politics of India. While the site contains some images, it is primarily a collection of essays.
Ordinary Life in Extraordinary Times: History of the Cultural Revolution
This online exhibit examines the events that occurred during China’s Cultural Revolution, from 1966-1976. Topics include the right to rebel, on the road, living, culture, daily life, learning, and the countryside. Each section contains images of related objects.
PBS’s History website chronicles hundreds of events relating to ancient and modern world history, American history, biographies, and war & espionage. It contains essays, documents, images, maps, timelines and interactive videos.
The British Museum
The British Museum's website includes virtual exhibitions related to Africa, the Americas, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece and Rome, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. Themes of online galleries include the Enlightenment, living and dying, and money.
Korean American National Museum
This museum was established in order to interpret and preserve the history, culture, and achievements of the Korean American community. The museum’s website provides historical and statistical information about Koreans in America.
National Museum of American History
The National Museum of American History opened in 1964 in Washington, DC. Its website includes approximately 50 online exhibitions relating to American history. Items in this exhibition include photographs, images and drawings.
National Museum of American Jewish History
This museum, located in Philadelphia’s Independence Hall, is dedicated to collecting, preserving and interpreting artifacts relating to the American Jewish Experience. Its online exhibits cover topics such as Jewish assimilation and Orthodox Jewish communities in America.
National Women’s History Museum
This website includes a Cyber Museum that features topics such as women’s suffrage, women Olympians, women in industry, women’s rights, women in World War II, women in education, women in the Progressive Era, women spies, coalition organization, and women in Jamestown. Posters, photographs, and images are displayed on the website.
The National World War II Museum
This museum’s online exhibits include personal narratives and images about the American homefront and the military. It also contains many links to related websites.
The New Jersey State Museum
The New Jersey State Museum is located in Trenton, New Jersey. Founded in 1895, its mission is to educate New Jersey residents about local archaeology/ ethnology, cultural history, fine art, and natural history. Information about current exhibits and the planetarium can be found on the museum’s website.
The website of the Smithsonian Institute features online exhibits in the areas of art & design, history & culture, and science & technology. History categories include archaeology and ancient cultures, cultural identity, economics, media, military, politics, religion, and more. Timelines, maps, images, and photographs are included in the exhibits.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
This museum’s website contains articles, photographs, maps and video. An online encyclopedia provides information about all aspects of the Holocaust, including the victims, refugees, Concentration Camps and Nazis. Other features include “Voices of Antisemitism” podcasts and discussions of modern day genocide.
Warren County Historical Society and Museum
The Warren County Historical Society and Museum is located in Belvidere, New Jersey. It was founded in 1931 to preserve Warren County’s history and protect its historic sites. Today it continues to promote the collection, preservation and dissemination of that history.
Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This dictionary is published by the Electronic Text Center at Virginia University. It covers seven topics: nature, humanity, art, history, politics, religion & philosophy, and math & logic. The database can be searched by keyword or browsed by author or subject.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Map Web Sites
This website contains links to thousands of historical maps depicting the world from about 150 BC to the 20th century. Categories include the world, individual countries and regions, and even celestial atlases.
American Association for State and Local History
The AASLH is the only national organization dedicated to state and local history. The organization provides technical services for historians (including videos and software), workshops and seminars, the publication of books and periodicals, and more. Membership is available to anyone interested in state and local history.
American Historical Association
The American History Association, founded in 1884, is the largest historical association in the United States. It aims to promote historical study and covers every historical period and geographical area. Membership is available to both history students and professionals.
American Society of Church History
The purpose of the ASCH is to study the history of Christianity and its relationship to other cultures. Findings are disseminated through publications and conferences. Membership is available to anyone interested in the history of Christianity.
American Studies Association
The American Studies Association is devoted to the study of American history and culture. Membership is open to anyone interested in these topics.
Immigration & Ethnic History Society
This organization is dedicated to the study of immigration to the USA and Canada. Membership is open to anyone interested in the study of immigration and ethnic history.
The Medieval Academy of America
The Medieval Academy of America is devoted to medieval studies. It supports the research, publication and teaching of medieval culture and history. Membership is available to anyone interested in the study of medieval history.
The National Council for History Education
The mission of the NCHE is to study the social sciences and current events from a historical perspective. Membership is open to anyone interested in helping the organization promote the teaching of history in schools and society.
National Council on Public History
The goal of the NCPH is to advance the study of public history and to advocate public and governmental support for historical programs. Membership is open to individuals interested in furthering these goals.
New Jersey Historical Society
The New Jersey Historical Society is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, and interpreting political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey. Membership is available to anyone interested in furthering these goals.
Oral History Association
This organization was established to bring together people who interested in documenting human memories. The organization publishes a journal, newsletter, and pamphlet series. Membership is open to students and historians.
Organization of American Historians
This organization promotes the study and teaching of American history through publications, conferences, etc. Membership is open to anyone with an interest in American history.
Society for Historians of the Early American Republic
SHEAR is devoted to studying the events and meaning of United States history from 1776 to 1861. Membership is available to anyone interested in this mission.
Society for Military History
This society is dedicated to advancing the study of military history. It explores the military's role in geographic, technological, political, social, and other frontiers. Membership is open to anyone interested in military history.
Society for Reformation Research
The Society for Reformation Research is devoted to promoting research, writing, and dialogue on issues related to the Protestant and Catholic reformations. Membership is open to anyone interested in the Reformation.
Society for the History of Discoveries
This society promotes the teaching, research, and publishing of the history of geographical exploration. Membership is available to anyone interested in this mission.
Society for the Study of Early Modern Women
Members of the SSEMW are devoted to the study of women’s contributions to the cultural, political, economic, or social spheres of the early modern period. Membership is open to anyone interested in the study of early women’s history.
The Supreme Court Historical Society
This society is dedicated to the collection and preservation of the history of the Supreme Court of the United States. The society supports historical research, lectures and educational colloquia, as well as the collection of historical artifacts and the publication of books and other materials about the Supreme Court's contribution to the nation’s constitutional heritage. Membership is open to anyone interested in these issues.
The Urban History Association
The mission of the Urban History Association is to promote research and study in the history of cities in all periods and geographical areas. Membership is available to anyone interested in this area of study.
World History Association
The WHA promotes world history through the encouragement of teaching, research, and publication. Membership is open to anyone interested in the study of history from a world-wide perspective.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882