Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authentic Assessment Toolbox
This Web site was created by North Central College Psychology Professor Jon Mueller to encourage educators to move away from traditional assessment of students towards authentic assessment, where students create real-life products of their choice to demonstrate content understanding. Mueller includes lesson examples created by his graduate students.
Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature
Use this Web site created by a reference librarian at California State University to find quality children’s literature. The database is searchable by age of reader, format, genre, publication year, and award winners.
The Discovery Channel offers a wealth of tools for educators including lesson plans (searchable by grade level and subject), ideas for activities and experiments, and a clip-art gallery. Also available on this site is Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators, an excellent source of the best sites on the Web for teachers.
This website is an online educational guide for teachers to gather and share ideas. It includes lesson plans and professional development tools.
The Educator’s Reference Desk
Sponsored by the Information Institute of Syracuse, this site provides over 2000 lesson plans submitted by teachers; over 3000 resources including Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups; and an archived collection of answers to popular questions about education.
English Raven EFL/ESL Resources
This site provides various resources for teachers of EFL/ESL including games, flashcards, and templates for tests.
FREE – Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
This Web site from the U.S. Department of Education has over 1,500 resources for teachers and learners from more than 60 federal agencies.
This site on learning disabilities and ADHD is an educational service of WETA-TV, the PBS station in Washington, DC. It is a resource for children, adolescents, parents, and teachers.
MONTESSORI: The International Montessori Index
Originally created in 1998 through the graduate school of education at Loyola College in Maryland, this site indexes detailed comparative information about Montessori schools to aid parents looking for a school for their children. It also presents information on the Montessori philosophy and practices.
The Montessori Foundation
This non-profit organization’s Web site offers articles for parents and teachers about the Montessori way of education in addition to a school finder.
Homeschoolers and teachers are encouraged to copy, print, and use the cards, puzzles, maps, and templates on this site. Materials for Language Arts, Math, Science, Geography, Music, Art, and History are included.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
A service of the U.S. Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics is the organization entrusted with data collection and analysis on all aspects of education. This site, an excellent source for statistics, also has an email alert system to keep you informed when new material is uploaded.
National Library of Education
This web site is the federal government’s resource center for education information. You can phone, mail, or email requests for information about the United States Department of Education’s programs, activities, publications, and education materials from this and other federal agencies.
New Jersey Department of Education
This site offers a school directory, news stories on education issues, and resources for parents, students, and partners (such as Parent Teacher Associations). You can access the New Jersey School Report Card to see how any New Jersey school measures up. From the page for educators, you can link to information about careers and how to become credentialed as a New Jersey school teacher.
Public Television provides resources for teachers including classroom materials, lesson plans, videos, and activities that correlate to state and national education standards. Professional development information is also included at this high-quality site.
OSEP Ideas that Work – U.S. Office of Special Education Programs
This Web site provides access to information from research to practice initiatives funded by Office of Special Education Programs to aid in the education of infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities.
SCHOOL: The Story of American Public Education
This history of public education in the United States looks at public education innovators and the evolving classroom. It includes a photo gallery and a pitch for civic involvement.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access created the Smithsonian Learning Lab to inspire the discovery and creative use of its rich digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts.
U.S. Department of Education
Educators can access a survival guide for teachers and aids to improve student performance from early childhood through college preparation. Students will appreciate homework resources, information about service and volunteer opportunities, as well as a college navigator and webliography of job sites. Education resources for Spanish speakers are also available.
American Educational Research Association
This international organization, founded in 1916, seeks to encourage research into education and its practical application. Some journal articles from its publications are available full-text on this site.
American Montessori Society
This organization advocates for Montessori education and provides services such as teacher education and scholarships to its members. The site has information about Maria Montessori as well as journal articles about Montessori education.
Association of American Educators
The AAE is a non-union, non-profit association of professional educators. The Web site outlines information on Character Education units and gives links to sites with job postings for teachers.
International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA)
This group is concerned with improving technology education by supporting and advancing educators in the field. The resources on its site include technology literacy standards and links to some technology unit plans.
Learning Disabilities Association of America
The largest non-profit volunteer organization advocating for people with learning disabilities brings you this site with news, articles, and resources.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
This organization includes parents as well as administrators and teachers. Its goal is to improve education for children from birth to age 8. Information is available on this Web site about critical issues in early childhood education such as school readiness. Also included is information about conferences related to early childhood education. Resources for families include “Choosing a Preschool” and “Your Child’s First Report Card.”
National Catholic Educational Association
The largest private educational organization in the world seeks to provide leadership and direction for all Catholic educators and collaborates with other organizations to benefit education in general. This site includes information about scholarships, grants, and professional development workshops for educators, as well as answers to frequently asked questions.
The National Council of Teachers of English
This organization promotes the teaching of English and all language arts. Its site includes “Teacher Resource Collections,” “Teaching Ideas Center,” and a link to “ReadWriteThink,” a collaboration between this organization, the International Reading Association, and Verizon that offers high-quality lesson plans and other teacher resources.
National Education Association
The NEA represents 3.2 million educators from preschool to graduate level and is committed to advancing public education. At the national level, it lobbies Congress on behalf of its members and public schools. This site has information on its stand on current education issues such as tuition vouchers and full-day kindergarten.
National Association of Special Education Teachers
Dedicated to furthering the professionalism of teachers of children with special needs, the NASET offers resources such as job postings, publications including the Special Educator e-Journal, and a Teacher-to-Teacher Forum.
New Jersey Education Association
The NJEA is a state affiliate of the National Education Association that advocates for its members (the public school teachers of New Jersey) and advances public education. This site includes information about teachers’ salaries, mentoring, finding a job, and professional development. Resources for new teachers include ideas for communicating with parents and managing the classroom.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882