Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BBC World Music Archive
Over 100 hours of programmed recorded all over the world.
Center for World Music
The Center for World Music is a nonprofit organization whose primary purpose is to foster intercultural awareness and understanding through in-depth encounters with the world’s performing arts traditions.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection
The University of Washington maintains this collection and its searchable web page allows you to see images and videos of their collection and learn more about the instruments.
Grinnell College Musical Instrument Collection
This open source searchable database is intended to provide its users with visual, sonic, and written information about a broad sampling of acoustic musical instruments of both Western and non-Western origins. Its primary audience is envisioned as students in undergraduate general education music courses (Western music history/appreciation classes, introductory ethnomusicology/’world music’ courses).
The Guardian -- World Music
Articles and reviews of music from around the world.
Kennedy Center's Art Edge -- World Music
Explore the rich tapestry created by musicians around the world -- from the music of the Arab World and Ancient Greece, to the diverse cultural sounds of China, to the songs that helped spur the Mexican Revolution.
Milken Archive of Jewish Music
The Milken Archive’s collection contains over 800 hours of oral histories, nearly 50,000 photographs and historical documents, thousands of hours of video footage from recording sessions, interviews, and live performances, and an extensive set of program notes and essays that illuminate the music's historical and cultural context. Much of this is available online.
NPR Music: World
Music videos and sound recordings, as well as related articles.
PBS's Music Around the World
This site has videos of music from around the world.
The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
As of January 2015, over 110,000 recordings have been digitized and placed on the Strachwitz Frontera Collection website, which is hosted by the UCLA Library. Scanned images of labels and album graphics accompany the recordings, and keywords have been established for subject-matter searches.
WOMEX -- The World Music Expo
WOMEX – the World Music Expo – is the most international music meeting in the world and the biggest conference of the global music scene, featuring a trade fair, talks, films and a showcase festival.
World Music Central
Your Connection to traditional and contemporary World Music including folk, roots and various types of global fusion.
World Music Network
World Music Network (WMN) is one of the leading forces on the international world music scene. The site includes links to songs and other resources (such as Spotify) where music can be heard for free.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882