Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Society for Microbiology
"to advance microbiological sciences through the pursuit of scientific knowledge and dissemination of the results of fundamental and applied research."
BIODIDAC provides thousands of images relating to organismal and human biology and histology. Users can browse the website or search by keyword.
Biological Anthropology Tutorials
Palomar Community College’s anthropology department created these biological anthropology tutorials. Topics include evolution, genetics, heredity, adaptability, behavior and much more. The website also includes a glossary of terms and printable index cards.
The Biology Project
This website, developed by the University of Arizona, is an interactive biology resource. Topics include biochemistry, cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, Mendelian genetics, and molecular biology.
CELLS Alive is an excellent resource for film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms. It provides interactive modules relating to cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy. Cell models, mitosis, meiosis, and cell cycles are discussed in detail.
Digital Anatomist Interactive Atlases
This website provides 2-D and 3-D images from cadaver sections, MRI scans, and computer reconstructions of the human body. Users can click on images to view different angles of the organs.
This website includes Amphibian and Sea Urchin Embryology tutorials. Both tutorials contain photographs, diagrams, and text.
HHMI is a non-profit medical research organization. Its BioInteractive website features information about infectious diseases, stem cells, evolution, obesity, cancer, neuroscience, genomics and chemical genetics, sex determination, biological clocks, cardiovascular diseases, immunology, DNA, and RNA. Formats include essays, videos, animation, lectures, and a virtual lab.
This website contains animations, graphics, and descriptive links related to the study of anatomy and the human body. Topics include the skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, nervous, cardiovascular, reproductive, and urinary systems.
Intute: Health and Life Sciences
The Health and Life Sciences pages of Intute, formerly known as BIOME, provides resources relating to medicine, nursing, midwifery, allied health, agriculture, food, forestry, veterinary medicine, bioresearch, and natural history. Additional features include a blog, hot topics, timelines, and events.
This website was created by the University of Utah's Genetic Science Learning Center. It includes a basic genetic reference series as well as a genome science series and a genetics of health series.
Microbes.info is an internet web site designed to bring useful and interesting microbiology informational resources to you. With billions of web pages out in cyberspace, searching effectively and efficiently for any information is increasingly difficult. Finding accurate and specific information on microbiology topics is much like "looking for a needle in a haystack". This web site attempts to reduce the clutter and the size of the haystack in an effort to help you filter through the information in an organized manner.
MicrobeWorld: Discover Unseen Life on Earth
MicrobeWorld contains images and essays about microbiology. Topics include viruses, bacteria and types of microbes. A discovery timeline, information about the profession of microbiology, and other resources are also available.
The goal of the DLC-ME and the Microbe Zoo is to help students from 7 to 107 to learn about microbial ecology, the study of microbes in the environment.
This website contains information on the identification and management of human and animal fungal infections. The site provides a range of educational materials including a mould identification self assessment module, descriptions of fungal pathogens and diseases, antifungal susceptibility data and links to societies and to other mycology sites.
National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
The National Biological Information Infrastructure is a part of the Biological Informatics Office of the U.S. Geological Survey. The program provides access to data and information on the nation's biological resources. It includes information about invasive species, focal species, and river restoration, as well as information and resources relating to specific organisms and their habitats.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation was created by Congress in 1950 to promote and support all fields of fundamental science and engineering. The agencies website features news, research overviews, speeches and lectures, discoveries, publications, statistics, a multimedia gallery, and more.
Net Frog 2002: Online Dissection
Net Frog is a step-by-step guide to the frog dissection process. It includes narration, video, graphics, text and quizzes.
Timeline of Evolutionary Thought
This timeline is a project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology in Berkeley, CA. Scholars are divided into three categories: Non-Darwinians, Darwinians, and Neo-Darwinians. It includes biographical information, images, and documents.
Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology
This online textbook and interactive website is based on Kenneth Todar's lectures at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. According to the website, "Its contents are suitable for reading or presentation in courses or course modules concerning general microbiology and medical bacteriology at the college and advanced high school levels of education. As an electronic text, new material is constantly being added, and current material is constantly being revised and updated."
Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists around the world that provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. It includes images, movies, and sound clips relating to types of life on earth.
The Virtual Courseware Project
The Virtual Courseware Project is supported by grants from the U.S. National Science Foundation and the California State University. It produces interactive, online simulations for the life and earth sciences. It consists of images and tutorials relating to earthquakes, global warming and more.
Environmental Science Resources
AIRNow was developed by the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Weather Service, the National Park Service, and tribal, state, and local agencies. It provides the public with an Air Quality Index for reporting daily air quality, focusing on pollution of outdoor air and associated health risks.
Digital Universe: Earth Portal
The Earth Portal provides timely, objective, science-based information about the environment, specifically the interaction between society and Earth. It includes EarthNews and an Encyclopedia of Earth, produced and reviewed by scientific scholars, as well as an EarthForum for both scholars and the general public.
Environmental News Network
The aim of the Environmental News Network is to provide a global perspective on environmental issues. Topics include animals, agriculture, ecosystems, energy, business, climate, pollution, green building, science and technology, lifestyle, and health.
National Environmental Trust
The National Environmental Trust is a non-profit, non-partisan organization established to inform citizens about environmental problems and their affect on health and quality of life. Issues covered on this site include clean air, global warming, energy, forests, oceans and marine life, environmental health, mining reform, and the fuel economy.
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP)
The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection manages New Jersey’s natural resources and pollution problems. The DEP’s website contains detailed information about air, water, land and open space, site cleanups, waste management, parks and forests, and fish and wildlife. Also included are New Jersey data and public records.
Tox Town: Environmental health concerns and toxic chemicals where you live, work and play
Tox Town is a product of the National Library of Medicine. It provides information about specific locations where you might find toxic chemicals, non-technical definitions of chemicals, and the environmental impact on health. It is available in both English and Spanish.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is a government agency designed to protect human health and the environment. Topics in this site include acid rain, asbestos, the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts, climate change, hazardous waste, human health, lead, mercury, mold, oil spills, ozone, pesticides, radon, recycling, stewardship, and more.
Academy of Natural Sciences
The Academy of Natural Sciences is located in Philadelphia, PA. Topics of the online exhibits include “Edward Lear’s Nature,” “Foul and Loathsome Creatures,” “Nature’s Great Masterpiece,” “Philadelphia Trees,” and more.
American Museum of Natural History
The American Museum of Natural History is located in New York, NY. Information and images about current exhibits are available online. There is also an online educator’s guide.
The Field Museum
The Field Museum is located in Chicago, IL. Topics covered in the museum’s many online exhibits include Tyrannosaurus Rex, man-eating lions, butterflies, and more.
Museum of Science
The Museum of Science is located in Boston, MA. Online exhibits include “Secrets of Ice,” “Oceans Alive!,” “Leonardo, Ancient Egypt” and more.
Natural History Museum
The Natural History Museum is located in London, England. The website includes information about biodiversity, environmental change, evolution, life, earth, and space. Online exhibits include “Wildlife Photographer of the Year,” “Art Themes,” “Endeavor Botanical Illustrations,” “British Wildlife Gallery,” and more.
The Science Museum is located in London, England. It features online exhibitions relating to art, current science, the environment, physics and math, chemistry and materials, energy, space, computing, engineering, medicine and biology, and transport.
Smithsonian Institution: Explore Science & Nature
The Smithsonian Institution of Science is located in Washington, DC.
The Encyclopedia of Earth
This online encyclopedia is published by the Environmental Information Coalition. Topics include the hydrosphere, lithosphere, atmosphere, magnetosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere, as well as Earth’s living organisms. Attention is also given to the impact of society on the environment.
Botany.com: Encyclopedia of Plants, Gardening and Botanical Dictionary
This plant encyclopedia provides information about the general description of plants, methods of cultivation, soil and temperature requirements, pruning, the means of propagation (seeds, cuttings, division, etc.), and the different varieties and hybrids.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882