Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Argumentation and Critical Thinking Tutorial
This argumentation and critical thinking interactive tutorial was developed by Jay VerLinden, a professor of Communication at Humboldt State University. Its purpose is to help college students learn basic concepts of the formal logical structure of arguments and informal fallacies. Each of the eleven online tutorials has a quick review and three tests (one true-false, one multiple choice, and one short answer).
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The ARDA provides public access to national and international religion data. It includes national and regional profiles; national and regional comparisons; state, metro area, and county reports; and national and state maps. Also included are quick links to data about U.S. religious groups and U.S. religious traditions.
Ethics Updates was created by Dr. Lawrence N. Hinman at the University of San Diego. It provides students with resources and updated links to ethics-related literature, videos, and forums, specifically ethical theory and applied ethics.
Hartford Institute for Religion Research
The purpose of this institute is to gather reliable information about modern religious life. This includes information about congregations, practical theology, denominations, church leadership resources, and more.
Institute for Global Ethics
The Institute for Global Ethics is “dedicated to promoting ethical action in a global context” through the exploration of a global common ground of values, the elevation awareness of ethics, and ethical decision making. Its website provides information about corporations, education, nonprofits, individuals, foundations, and government.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
The Markkula Center for Applied Ethics promotes research and dialogue on ethical issues in American life. It provides articles, cases, blogs, podcasts, and other news about biological, business, campus, character, government, environmental, global, legal, media, and technology ethics.
Online Guide to Ethics and Moral Philosophy
This website, created by Robert Cavalier, a professor at Carnegie Mellon’s Philosophy department, is intended as an introduction to ethics. Topics include the history of ethics, concepts and problems, and applied ethics.
The Pluralism Project at Harvard University
The mission of the Pluralism Project at Harvard University is “to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources.” The organization’s website includes current initiatives, news, online resources by state and religious tradition, research, and multimedia resources.
This website provides facts about the world's religions and topics of religious interest. The site provides religious facts, histories, and symbols, as well as a comparison chart and subject specific glossaries.
Secular Coalition for America: Atheists, Humanists, Freethinkers
The Secular Coalition for America is a lobby that attempts “to increase the visibility and respectability of non-theistic viewpoints and to protect and strengthen the secular character of our government as the best guarantee of freedom for all.” The website provides position papers, open letters, and news articles about the organization.
Theoi Greek Mythology: Exploring Mythology in Classical Literature & Art
This website was created by and is currently edited by Aaron J. Atsma of Auckland, New Zealand. It contains more than 1,500 pages profiling the Greek gods and other characters from Greek mythology. Over 1,200 full sized pictures are also included. The site can be searched by gods and goddesses; titans and titanesses; fabulous creatures; giants; heroes, kings, and villains; and nymphs. It also includes a family tree of the gods, art galleries, and classical texts.
Encyclopedia Mythica: mythology, folklore, and religion.
Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia of worldwide mythology, folklore, and religion. Users can view an alphabetical listing of over 7,000 articles or search by topic.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This encyclopedia provides in-depth information about philosophers and philosophies. It was founded by James Fieser, Ph.D. and is co-edited by Fieser and Bradley Dowden, Ph.D.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides articles about philosophers and philosophies. It can be searched by keyword or browsed alphabetically. It is edited by Edward N. Zalta.
The American Philosophical Society
The mission of the American Philosophical Association is to “promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.” Membership is open to students and professionals in the field of philosophy.
The Ancient Philosophy Society
The Ancient Philosophy Society provides a forum for discussion and scholarship on ancient Greek and Roman texts. Membership is available to both students and professionals interested in ancient philosophy.
International Association for Environmental Philosophy (IAEP)
The IAEP promotes the scholarship and understanding of environmental philosophy, including environmental ethics, environmental aesthetics, ontology, theology, science, eco-feminism, and the philosophy of technology. Membership is available to all individuals with an interest in environmental philosophy.
The International Association for Philosophy and Literature
The mission of the International Association for Philosophy and Literature is to promote the exchange of ideas and scholarly research within the humanities. This includes philosophy, literary theory, and cultural/aesthetic/textual studies. Membership is open to both students and professionals interested in these topics.
North American Association for the Study of Religion (NAASR)
The purpose of the NAASR is “to encourage the historical, comparative, structural, theoretical and cognitive approaches to the study of religion among North American scholars; to represent North American scholars of religion at the international level; and to sustain communication between North American scholars and their international colleagues engaged in the study of religion.” Membership is open to both students and professionals.
The Society for Philosophy and Psychology (SPP)
The goal of the SPP is to promote interaction between philosophers, psychologists and other cognitive scientists. Membership is open to anyone interested in the society’s goals.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882