Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accuracy in Media—For Fairness, Accuracy and Balance in News Reporting
Accuracy in Media (AIM) is a citizen’s watchdog group that critiques the news media’s inaccurate and biased news stories. Its goal is to encourage fair and objective news coverage by the media. The group’s website includes news, briefings, guest columns, and much more.
Allyn & Bacon Communication Studies Website
This website is designed to be used with Pearson Education Company’s communication textbooks, but it is also useful as an independent resource. It includes information about small group communication, interpersonal communication, and public speaking. Online quizzes and interactive activities are featured at the end of each subsection.
American Press Institute
The American Press Institute, located in Virginia, provides training and professional development for individuals in the news industry and journalism educators. The Institute's website includes information about upcoming seminars, articles that can be browsed by author or topic, and a “journalism toolbox” with links to useful websites.
American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
This website contains a large archive of famous American speeches. Video is included where available, as well as text. Scholarly resources include definitions and discussions about rhetoric by the ancient Greeks.
Center for Media Literacy
The Center for Media Literacy (CML) is an provides leadership, public education, professional development and educational resources to individuals and organizations across the country. Media issues include advertising/consumerism, computer literacy, faith-based media literacy, film study, global media issues, health issues, history of the media, and media activity resources. The website includes many free downloads that can be used in conjunction with these topics.
Digital TV: A Cringely Crash Course
PBS’s Robert X. Cringely discusses the history and future of television. Topics include “TV Grows Up,” “A Different Aspect,” “The Coming Resolution,” “Digital vs. Analog,” “Enhanced TV,” and “HDTV.” Flash videos and images are included in the presentation, as is a Digital Broadcast Timeline.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
The FCC is an independent government agency that regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable across the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions. The FCC’s website provides official reports, surveys, and responses regarding communication information. It also provides information regarding the many bureaus and offices within the FCC.
Interpersonal Communication Website
This website was created by Terrence A. Doyle, Ph. D., at Northern Virginia Community College. It includes information about cultural context, self concept, relationships, listening and perception, verbal and nonverbal messages, relational development, and communication as a process.
Knight Digital Media Center: Tutorials
This website was created by the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism. The tutorials section contains detailed instructions for using different media formats. Topics include “Using Flash Templates,” “Using Soundslides,” “Dictation Recorders,” “HTML,” and much more.
Media History Digital Library
"A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison."
National Telecommunications and Information Administration
The NTIA, a bureau of the U.S. Department of Commerce, advises the president about telecommunications and information policy issues and presents the Administration's position on these issues. The bureau’s website includes information about the different NTIA offices as well as press releases, publications, and reports.
NewsLab is an online resource that seeks to improve television and radio journalism by helping reporters better inform their viewers and listeners about the issues that affect their lives. The website provides information about and public reaction to current news reports. It also includes resources and strategies for reporters to use to improve their skills.
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists. Its website provides articles on topics such as design and graphics, diversity, ethics, leadership, the internet, photojournalism, writing and editing, TV and radio, and journalism and business values. There is also a career center that provides interview and resume tips, as well as job announcements.
Project for Excellence in Journalism: Understanding News in the Information Age
The Project for Excellence in Journalism is a non-partisan “research organization that specializes in using empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press.” Its mission is to help both journalists and non-journalists better understand the news. It provides statistics and analysis of the news media as well as links to job postings, journalism schools, and journalism organizations.
The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press is a nonprofit organization that provides free legal assistance to journalists. The organization’s website includes news articles, podcasts, and press releases that relate to freedom of the press.
USDOJ: Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
This website, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, provides information about the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), which requires all federal agencies to disclose records requested in writing by any person. In addition to general information about the act, the website also has a reference guide, Privacy Act regulations, and FOIA contact information.
The Encyclopedia of Television
The Encyclopedia of Television is a product of the Museum of Broadcast Communications. It includes more than 1,000 original essays about specific programs, people, historic events, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. Photos and bibliographical information are also included.
Glossary of Audio & Video Media Terminology
This glossary is a product of Wavelength Media. It provides definitions about audio, video, film, television, graphics, Internet and general media production.
Glossary of Telecommunications Terms
The Federal Communications Commission created this webpage for customers interested in learning more about popular communication terms. It relates specifically to modern technology such as cell phones, television, and the internet.
Symbols.com: Online Encyclopedia of Western Signs and Ideograms
This website “contains more than 1,600 articles about 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics.” Users can either search the Graph Index to find the meaning or history of a sign or the word index to find a word with a specific definition.
ACA: American Communication Association
The ACA is a professional association of communication scholars and practitioners. The association’s mission is to promote the use of new and evolving technologies “to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism.” Membership is free and is open to anyone interested in the study of communication.
American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
ASIS&T helps communication professionals discover new and better theories, techniques, and technologies to improve access to information. This society’s mission is to encourage “participation and interaction among its members by affording them an environment for substantive professional exchange.” Membership is open to both students and professionals.
ASJA: American Society of Journalists and Authors
ASJA is an organization of independent nonfiction writers. It provides members with the ability to improve their professional development through meetings with editors and others in the field, seminars and workshops, discount services, and discussion among peers.
Association for Business Communication (ABC)
The goal of the Association for Business Communication is to promote excellence in business communication scholarship, research, education, and practice. Membership is open to both students and professionals interested in business communication.
ECA: Eastern Communication Association
The mission of the ECA is to promote research, criticism, communication theory, and excellence in teaching. Membership is available to both students and professionals in the eastern United States.
International Association of Business Communicators (IABC)
IABC provides networking and professional development opportunities for individuals interested in business communications. Membership is open to both students and professionals.
International Communication Association (ICA)
The ICA’s mission is to provide an international forum to develop communication research, to promote quality scholarly publication and knowledge exchange, and to facilitate debate on communication-related issues. Membership is open to students and professionals interested in human communication.
International Speech Communication Association (ISCA)
The purpose of the ISCA is to promote international activities and exchanges in speech communication science and technology. Membership is open to both students and professionals.
National Communication Association (NCA)
The National Communication Association promotes “the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication.” Membership is available to anyone interested in pursuing these goals.
New Jersey Communication Association (NJCA)
The NJCA is committed to the “open exchange of ideas, information and research about communication.” Membership is available to New Jersey communications students and professionals.
Newspaper Association of America (NAA)
The goal of the NAA is to improve newspapers' sales and marketing capabilities, advocate and communicate the views and interests of newspapers, support newspapers' First amendment issues, promote a diverse work force, provide research analysis and practical guidance to ensure continued revenue growth, and provide technological guidance to enable newspapers to effectively serve their readers and advertisers. Membership is open to students and professionals in the newspaper industry.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882