Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
The Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law is a leading legal advocate for both children and adults with mental disabilities. The Center achieves its mission through litigation, advocacy, and education. Features of the website include action reports, newsletters, information alerts, and full-text, online publications.
Internet Mental Health
Internet Mental Health is an online mental health encyclopedia created by a Canadian psychiatrist named Dr. Phillip Long. Topics include disorders, self diagnosis, medications, and research. The website also includes magazine articles and discussion boards.
Mental Health America (MHA)
MHA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people live mentally healthier lives. Its website has a lot of information including fact sheets, mental health topics, disorders and treatments (which can be limited by audience or issue), medications, a crisis hotline, financial information, and much more.
Mental Help Net
Mental Help Net is a service of CenterSite, LLC, which provides website services to employee assistance programs, substance abuse centers and community mental health centers. Mental Help Net promotes mental health and wellness education and advocacy. The website is organized into topic centers (divided into mental disorders, medical disorders, wellness, life issues, healthcare, treatments and interventions, and lifespan development), current news, and publications.
NAMI: National Alliance on Mental Illness
The National Alliance on Mental Illness is works to improve the lives of the mentally ill and their families. The organization’s website includes information about mental illness, medication, research, and public policy. It also provides supportive resources for children, teens, and veterans, as well as for ordinary adults.
NIMH: National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health, part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, promotes understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders. The website includes mental health topics, publications and statistics about health and outreach, and science news.
Psych Central is an independent mental health social network “created and run by mental health professionals to guarantee reliable, trusted information and support communities” to the public. Topics on the website include disorders, drugs, grief and loss, parenting, psychotherapy, relationships, stress, and more. Chat sessions and message boards offer opportunities to discuss these topics with the general public and professionals.
Psycport.com – Psychology in the News
Psychport.com, a service of the American Psychological Association, provides access to news about psychology. This includes press releases, journal articles, and newspaper articles.
Sigmund Freud: Conflict & Culture
The Library of Congress recently presented an exhibit about Sigmund Freud and maintains some information about it online. Topics include “Formative Years,” “The Individual: Therapy & Theory,” and “From the Individual to Society.” The website includes many photographs and documents.
The Stanford Prison Experiment
The Stanford Prison Experiment was a simulation study of the psychology of imprisonment, conducted at Stanford University in 1971. In this experiment a group of healthy, intelligent, middle-class males were divided into prisoners and prison guards. This website discusses the events of the six-day investigation and its psychological effects on both the prisoners and prison guards. The website also links to articles that describe parallels with the Abu Ghraib prisoner abuse scandal in Iraq.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA is a service of the United States Department of Health and Human Services dedicated to “building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders.” Its website provides statistics about substance abuse and mental health, and articles about drugs, illnesses, and programs and campaigns.
A Glossary of Freudian Terminology
This glossary, compiled by Doug Davis of Haverford College, is a brief list of definitions to terms frequently used by Freud.
Glossary of Psychological Terms
This glossary was taken from Richard J. Gerrig’s and Philip G. Zimbardo's Psychology and Life. It is an in-depth list of words and definitions that you will come across in psychology books and classes.
American Psychological Association (APA)
The APA is dedicated to advancing psychology and promoting health, education, and human welfare. Membership is available to students and professionals interested in the field of psychology.
Association for Humanistic Psychology (AHP)
The AHP is an international non-profit association committed to the exploration and evolution of the human spirit. It emphasizes “consciousness, human dignity, and the capacity to direct our own destinies.” Membership is open to anyone interested in the AHP’s goals.
Association for Psychological Science (APS)
The APS's mission is to “promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare.” Membership is open to students pursuing a psychology degree and professionals.
International Association of Applied Psychology (IAAP)
The mission of the IAAP is to promote the practice of applied psychology and to improve research and communication related to applied psychology around the world. Membership is open to students and professionals interested in applied psychology.
International School Psychology Association (ISPA)
The ISPA’s mission is to promote sound psychological principles in education, promote communication, encourage the use of school psychologists, and promote the psychological rights of all children. Membership is available to professionals and students enrolled in school psychology programs.
International Social Cognition Network (ISCON)
The mission of the ISCON is to advance the understanding of social cognition by encouraging research, presenting scientific papers, sponsoring or issuing scientific publications, establishing professional honors and awards, and cooperating with other scientific and professional societies. Membership is open to students and professionals interested in social cognition.
The Pavlovian Society
The mission of the Pavlovian Society is to study and observe behavior and promote interdisciplinary scientific communication. Membership is open to both students and professionals.
Psi Beta: National Honor Society in Psychology for Community & Junior Colleges
Psi Beta is the national honor society in psychology for community and junior colleges. Psi Beta is dedicated to the professional development of psychology students through scholarship, leadership, research, and community service.
Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SPSP)
The mission of the SPSP is “to further the generation and dissemination of research in personality and social psychology” through publications, conferences, and communication. Membership is open to anyone interested in personality and social psychology.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882