Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Childstats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics established this website to provide statistics and reports on children and families. Topics covered include family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Families and Work Institute
The Families and Work Institute studies changes in the workforce, workplace, family, and community. Topics include wages, generations, gender, youth, and more. The website contains a number of online reports that are available for download.
Feminist Majority Foundation
This website promotes women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence. Topics include feminist news, Afghan women, sports and education, reproductive rights, women’s health, and more. The website also includes a “News & Events” section and a “Feminist Career Center.”
The National Marriage Project
The National Marriage Project provides research and analysis on the state of marriage in America. The site includes over thirty publications that discuss issues in marriage.
Social Issues Research Centre
The Social Issues Research Centre is a British organization that studies social and cultural topics and trends. Their website includes many online articles about emotions, sports, obesity, and much more.
Sociology of Religion
This website was created by the Hartford Institute for Religious Research. It contains links to full-text articles and data about the role of religion in historical and modern societies.
Racial and Ethnic Relations/Immigration Resources
19th Century Emigration to the North Americas
This website was created by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI). It provides commentary, images, and statistics about emigration from Ireland and Northern Ireland to Canada and the United States. Topics include daily life in Northern Ireland; the British, Canadian, and American governments’ efforts to encourage emigration; the journey to the new land, and immigrants’ assimilation in the new land.
Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
This foundation is a non-profit partner of the California State Parks and the National Park Service. Its mission is to help preserve and restore the California station and educate the public about this “Pacific gateway to America,” where many immigrants (mostly Asian) arrived in America. Topics include station history and island information. Photographs and related links are also available.
Angel Island Poetry
This website was created by the English Department of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. It was prepared and compiled by Cary Nelson. Topics include “Major Themes and Influences of the Poems at Angel Island,” an “Angel Island Photo Gallery,” “Text of the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act,” an “Asian American History Timeline,” and more.
Digital History: Voices
The Digital History website is supported by the Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston. The "Voices" section of the site provides essays regarding the immigration experience through the eyes of those who experienced it first hand.
Ellis Island: FREE Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Users can search Ellis Island’s immigration records by entering the passenger’s name, approximate year of birth, and gender.
Ellis Island National Monument
Ellis Island National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains information on immigration through the island as well as photographs of the facilities, both past and present.
From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America
This is an online exhibition presented by the Library of Congress. Included in the website are essays, photographs, and a timeline from 1492 to the present.
Homeland Security: Immigration Data & Statistics
This website contains immigration statistics provided by the Department of Homeland Security. Topics include “Naturalization Rate Estimates,” “Border Apprehensions,” “Immigration Enforcement Actions,” and “Data on Enforcement Actions.” Also included is the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, which provides both current and historical information.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This website is a project of the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. It covers issues in African migration from the Transatlantic Slave Trade to modern African Immigration. The website features a variety of sources including images, maps and texts.
Korean American National Museum
This museum was established in order to interpret and preserve the history, culture, and achievements of the Korean American community. The museum’s website provides historical and statistical information about Koreans in America.
Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
MPI is a non-partisan, non-profit think tank dedicated to the study of worldwide migration. Topics include both U.S. and European immigration. Also included is a Data Hub with immigration statistics (both current and historical) and Immigration Source, an online journal that provides articles on current immigration information in America and Worldwide.
National Museum of American Jewish History
This museum, located in Philadelphia’s Independence Hall, is dedicated to collecting, preserving and interpreting artifacts relating to the American Jewish Experience. Its online exhibits cover topics such as Jewish assimilation and Orthodox Jewish communities in America.
Statue of Liberty National Monument
Statue of Liberty National Monument is a part of the National Park Service within the Department of the Interior. The website contains historical and statistical information about the statue. Photographs are also included.
U.S. Census Bureau
This website provides both current and historical census information. For current immigration information, go to the American FactFinder. Search for People (Origins and Language) or People (Race and Ethnicity). For historical immigration information, see the Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts.
Destination America -- Resources
This is a list of web resources put together by PBS in relation to their program "Destination America"
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society, edited by William H. Swatos, Jr., contains information about people and terms relating to religion and society. The index is hyperlinked, making it easy to find the definitions.
American Sociological Association (ASA)
The American Sociological Association is “dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good.” Membership is available to students and professionals in the field of sociology.
Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS)
The mission of the Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology is to promote and advance the application of sociological knowledge and practice. Membership is open to students and professionals in the field of sociology.
International Sociological Association (ISA)
The mission of the International Sociological Association is to represent sociologists and advance their knowledge throughout the world. Membership is open to students and professionals in the field of sociology.
North American Society for the Sociology of Sport (NASSS)
The purpose of the North American Society for the Sociology of Sport is to “promote, stimulate, and encourage the sociological study of play, games, and sport.” Membership is open to students and professionals interested in the field of sociology.
School Social Work Association of America (SSWAA)
The goal of the School Social Work Association of America is to promote the school social work profession and “enhance the educational experience of students and their families.” Membership is open to students and professionals interested in social work.
Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP)
The aim of the SSSP is to promote sociological research relating to problems in social life. Membership is open to anyone interested in the study of vital social problems.
Warren County Community College
Haytaian & Maier Library
475 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882